We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food but...”
Review of Sleepers

Sleepers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
hull
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food but...”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived for a table 5 minutes early only to be told we're waiting for people to finish and that we were early.. The diners were only half way though so we pointed out the table wasn't even going to be ready in 5 minutes.. The bar was absolutely packed (not to mention seriously loud) so our group discussed what we were going to do whilst waiting for a table, or we tried too.. The over zealous staff interrupting our conversation telling us just to get drinks and wait were over the top and annoying!! Fast forward to a different table the food was delicious!! As it always is. Unfortunately the noise level and sheer crampedness may be enough to put us off again, the food was gorgeous but think we can probably get the same standard with better service elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meandhimHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    215
    57
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BenAhmed
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have started coming to Hull again after a long while. Had dinner else where, but fancied puddings, so called in!

Lovely staff the girl on the bar was friendly and knowledgeble! The lad that served the puds and coffe was very friendly and checked back!! Great we will be back for dinner and drinks!!

Book! As it was busy on a Monday night!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull East Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad management!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having reserved a table for 8 people for 7o clock tonight and arrive to be told that the booking was only for 3 people!!! Not to worry, I was told I was " lucky" they could fit me in! In this economic climate I wouldVe thought that they were the "lucky "one's having a booking for 8 people! Or is that just me? No apology, no nothing! Regardless to say I left and won't be returning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff, lovely decor, amazing food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday evening in July with partner.

Shared a baked Camembert for starters, which was delicious. I had the Chicken Zada for main and my partner had the Venison burger. Both very satisfied with our dishes.

Service was good. Had to order our food at the bar, but the girl serving was very polite and chatty.

Reasonably priced food and the atmosphere was good. Only very slight downside is how close the tables are to each other, though this is not a big problem.

Will be paying Sleepers another visit again soon hopefully.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Papastu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice but crammed”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked a table, however on the night the waitress said she couldn't find our reservation so had to wait 45 mins for a table. However me and my boyfriend were offered a free drink and staff were apologetic and friendly. On sitting down food came quickly and was yummy, big portions! Great value for money, although felt very crammed in with no space to move, it was also a tad too noisy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poopy123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleepers also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Sleepers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing