We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Aroma - CLOSED

Aroma
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Having eaten here in the past, and enjoyed it. I was very dissapointed this time. The meals were cold, infact I sent the crispy duck back to the kitchen . The plates felt like they had come out of the fridge and as for the staff, well there was an older female obviously not in a very good mood by the tone of voice she used to other members of staff. Throwing dirty plates and cutlery into a large plastic storage box was hardly condusive to a relaxing evening. I think the waiting staff could do with a lesson in customer care. All in all that is the last time i will be using this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ribena999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    20
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Being asked to leave for complaining? That's bad customer service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Having eaten in Aroma a few times before we booked in with a group of 10 friends for my husbands birthday on Saturday night. We were seated upstairs along with four other tables of large(ish) group bookings and ordered our drinks at the bar. Our starters arrived fairly promptly, as did the duck course. Unfortunately for a table of 10 we only received a small plate of the vegetables, one small dish of hoisin sauce and 1 pancake each, which wasn't nearly enough to enjoy the plateful of duck that was on our table, however we did finish the duck without it's accompaniments. It turns out that it was a good job we did. We ordered our main courses and at around 10pm (we sat down at 8!) a couple of portions of cold sweet and sour chicken turned up. 5 minutes later another couple of cold dishes arrived and it was at this point I spoke to the guy working behind the bar to see if I could speak to a manager. This was refused as they were apparently working in the kitchen. A few minutes later a solitary bowl of rice was brought to the table. I eventually managed to talk to a member of staff who appeared to have a senior role who simply shrugged and said "it's busy...t's Chinese new year and pay day...and the staff there... he's not experienced", if Aroma knew that the weekend was going to be particularly busy why did they not staff for it?

Two waiters for a room full of diners is NOT the way to deal with a busy service.

Having still not received all of our main courses after being sat at the table for 2 hours and 20 minutes I complained again to the same member of staff. Her response this time was to ask us to leave, making us feel as though we were the people in the wrong for simply wanting the food we ordered to arrive to the table all at once and hot...it's not unusual to expect this in a restaurant...is it?

With the great reviews I'm hearing about 'Wings' in the city centre, maybe Aroma should rethink their customer service strategy. I for one know where the 10 of us will be heading for our next birthday celebration!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettyriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Been to Aroma a few times now but not in a large group. Went on Sat in a party of 10 for a birthday. There was quite a few large party's in and this was the problem. We got our starters ok but then had to wait 2 hours for our mains and then only a few dishes came out. All of the large parties that night complained and most only paid the amount they thought their meals were worth and it did spoil our birthday celebrations as we left without most of us having any main courses. Aroma don't take large bookings if you can't handle them! Simple.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TeamDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

It was my first time at aroma on Saturday evening. The restaurant itself could do with decorating as its dated but that doesn't say anything about the food. 11 of us all enjoyed the different dishes put in front of us. Prawn crackers to nibble on while you decide on the starters. Then crispy duck for all, then the mains. The staff were great, checking if we wanted more of anything. Very attentive. We will be returning very soon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

visited this restaurant a few times now and never been disappointed, great value for money.
I like the fact that all though its all you can eat it is not self service (which i hate). On arrival we where shown to our table ordered drinks which where served very quickly and then left to choose from the wide choice on the menu. you can choose as many starters and main courses as you think you can eat, with peeking duck in the middle yum x if this doesn't fill you ask to see the menu again, but don't be to greedy as you have to pay for dishes that you order but don't eat. this place looks nothing from the outside but give it a try you wont be disapointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing