We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Vale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vale Guest House
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Dont get me wrong this is a basic / budget hotel ,but the room was clean with tea/coffee making facilities and TV with freeview channels . You get what you pay for and at £30 a night for an ensuite room I think this is reasonable value for money.
There is secure parking on site as well ,and breakfast is available at a small extra charge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markc913Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

my heart sank as soon as i pulled in to the road - awful road - a man relieving himself in an alleyway opposite - you get the picture. hall/ reception area was dingey and dirty - ive happily stayed in lots of budget hotels but never seen anything like this. bad vibe that they'd need two padlocked gates to protect the so called carpark which is bit of ground behind the building. i'd paid up front. the room itself looked clean to be fair, but my taxi driver confirmed my worries -i just didnt feel safe . i got him to turn round and went back to get my bag and car and i left, even though i had nowhere else to stay(thankfully found somewhere after lots of phone calls).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mb1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed 6 days here whist working in the area rooms were spotless, nice tv's, modern bathrooms, friendly staff, great beds, car park like fort Knox felt so safe, just like a 5 min walk from kc stadium if was to stay in hull again would stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattypops121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

There are little redeeming qualities about this 'hotel'

Rude check in service, room smelt like gravy, TV didn't work and my girlfriend cried when she saw the toilets.

Don't go.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Our employee arrived at this hotel & immediately refused to stay. He said it was filthy & full of drunks. This employee is used to staying at low budget B&Bs & hotels all over the country as he is a site labourer & has never in 6 years of employment refused to stay anywhere. It is unsurprising that the hotel refused to refund his 4 night stay as I'm sure they have giests refusing to stay on a regular basis! DO NOT BOOK HERE WHATEVER YOU DO!

Room Tip: Don't book!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elise38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Convenient location. Very close to centre of th town and free car park and free wi-fi

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

This 'hotel' is the worst i have ever seen. We have many complaints about it here are a few.
Our bedroom and bathroom light didn't work they finally fixed the bedroom light but we had to put up wth no light in our bathroom, we had paid extra for an en-suite bathroom but had to shower in the shared bathroom down the corridor.
I sat on the single bed and fell through it as the wooden slats underneath the matress had been broken and taped back up.
The door to our room from the corridor didn't shut properly, it shut just enough to get it locked.
We were told the cost included a full english breakfast and that it was enough to keep you going all day. This was the worst breakfast i had ever seen and was still very hungry afterwards because not only was there little to eat but i don't actually think it was edable.
We had a guest over for a couple of hours and we were charged an extra £45 on top of what we had already paid.
The staff were not very friendly at all and didnt really make us feel welcome. The Hotel was very quiet but that is because we were the only 2 people staying there and i am not surprised at all!

I will say that The Eagle the pub on the corner didnt look great but the staff and customers were friendly and helpfull. We recommend that if you go to Hull then to stay somewhere different to The Vale Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KaynKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gilson Hotel
Gilson Hotel
#16 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Campanile Hull - City Center
Campanile Hull - City Center
#17 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#15 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
205 reviews
2 mi away
Cornmill Hotel
Cornmill Hotel
#11 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale Guest House

Address: 6 Coltman Street | Anlaby Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU3 2SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: $39 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vale Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vale Apart Hotel has been under new management since March this year. We are decorating and improving the property continuously. Our staff are kind and helpful with any question or query. We strive to make any guests stay a comfortable happy stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing