We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little museum”

Dinostar - Hull's Dinosaur Experience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I whent here with my partner and 6yr old daughter and have to say at the cheap price and size of the building i wasnt expecting it to be great. But as soon as we started walking around it was very educational and informative, lots of interactive things to see,smell and touch that ALL work! You are even given a sheet that has several dinosaurs on that you have to find and stamp the sheet on your way round. Once filled you get disscount in the gift shop. I thought this was a fantastic museum and would recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank danny_p1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    38
    18
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

content brilliant not many places like this still going well done to all concerned with this amazing concept

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank reedy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money its cold dark dirty and not worth visiting”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We took our seven year old here and must say we went round in less than twenty minutes. The place was freezing cold they only put lights on when someone enters the shop. Paint is falling off the walls looks awful. Anyway we set off for a look around and was disappointed my little one has a better collection of plastic dinosaurs at home. As for the section were the kids could colour and play. The toys were broken none of the pens worked so could not even draw a picture to take home. If you are thinking of going i would not bother save your money and go visit some of the other museums in hull they are far better than this place and most of them are free. This place is just a big rip off.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank jojonHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Compact and tucked away, but worth a visit”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Walking back from The Deep, we came across Dinostar by accident. It's a smashing little dinosaur exhibition. A good range of fossils (the bones are mostly casts but guess what, so are the ones in the Natural History Museum) with well-written, informative labels. It's nicely laid out and has a surprising amount of interactivity, including prehistoric sounds and smells. So far as I could see, it's all pretty up-to-date and scientifically accurate. My wife and I, and our nine-year-old, thoroughly enjoyed it. Some other reviewers may have been disappointed expecting some big, well-funded visitor experience. It's not, it's a smart little independent dinosaur/fossil museum that will educate and entertain.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Out of date, in need of attention”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

In all honesty, pretty poor. Attraction got round in less than an hour. I read all info whilst kids drew pictures and dusted sand of bones. A couple of genuine bones, rest plastic, paper mâché style. Place in need of renovation, paint missing off walls, poor interaction boxes, run down. At £3 adult and £1.50 kids, it's too expensive. And that's saying something!!

Helpful?
Thank Scuttler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinostar - Hull's Dinosaur Experience also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Dinostar - Hull's Dinosaur Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing