We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All full up”
Review of Red Sails

Red Sails
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Red Sails is located at The Beacon (HU3 4AE) adjacent to St Andrews Quay Retail Park. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you, along with our freshly cooked Carvery, delicious menu and fantastic kid's menu. There is something for everyone! Keep the children entertained with the indoor toddler play area and children's gaming machines. For warmer days, we offer a children's outdoor activity park and an external dining area. Why not relax in our comfortable setting and try our wide range of soft drinks, hot beverages, lagers, wines and cask ales. The Red Sails is a great place to socialise or take advantage of the free wifi access for those working lunches. No booking is required so just turn up on the day. Fancy having breakfast here? Breakfast is served daily from 10am-12pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Red Sails soon.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Popped in on our way to a gig for food after a day at work.. me and my husband were both quite hungry and opted for the carvery. Was well pleased that it was 2 for 11. We both opted for gammon and beef. The food was lovely hot and very tasty home made Yorkshire pudding hats off Mr Chef..the staff were all very lovely and very attentive, sorry no room for pudding which was also on offer for 2 quid..no wonder it's busy

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank G3949YDalisonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, General Manager at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Thank you for finding time to review your recent visit to The Red Sails. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and we really appreciate your feedback. Providing our guests with the best possible food and service is our main aim so please let us know if there is anything we can do to make The Red Sails better! We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards The Red Sails Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 773 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Visit this pub every week for lunch and always get brilliant service and food. The staff are so welcoming and the food is delicious. Wouldn’t go any where else. Fab prices too. The chef is lovely, he always chats if he happens to be on a break, lovely guy. Can’t fault this place or it’s staff.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 38angipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, Owner at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020


Thank you for finding time to review your recent visit to The Red Sails. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and we really appreciate your feedback. Providing our guests with the best possible food and service is our main aim so please let us know if there is anything we can do to make The Red Sails better! We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards The Red Sails Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Good food and good value, nice atmosphere.
Lovely friendly bar staff and excellent waitress who cleared table.
The boy carving the meat was a disgrace to Red Sails, Marstons and customer service as a whole. After receiving a small slice of pork and a few crumbs of beef. I politely asked for a slice of gammon. At which point he rolled his eyes and tutted, tossed the slice on the plate, shoved a lump of stuffing and a Yorkshire and rammed the plate into my hand. He then continued to do this for several of my colleagues. He acted like a stroppy belligerent teenager who was having a reaction with testosterone resulting in an awful attitude.
A real shame. As I say the rest of the staff throughout were fantastic and made the afternoon very pleasant.
Sadly the attitude of the grumpy meat carver boy serving the food tarnished the experience.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Shipinadock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, Owner at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to review The Red Sails. We are sorry to hear that you haven’t been enjoying your experience in the restaurant lately. Providing our guests with the best possible food and service is our main aim so thank you for your honest review. We hope to welcome you back to The Red Sails soon. Kind Regards, The Red Sails Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

The type of easy going pub grub expected! We ordered starters & was persuaded by a gent (who I presume to be a manager) to get the deal of ordering three instead of two to save pennies! After feeling full, we still went ahead with mains. My partner ordered the yorkshire puddding wrap, which from personal preference did not enjoy and wish he had a cavery, and I ordered a burger (which yet again persuaded!) Lovely service :) A very lively atmosphere, although shame they have no deals on drinks like other Marstons pubs.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Sobhie0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, Manager at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank you for finding time to review your recent visit to The Red Sails. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and we really appreciate your feedback. Providing our guests with the best possible food and service is our main aim so please let us know if there is anything we can do to make The Red Sails better! We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards The Red Sails Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

This is a great place to get together for a relaxed meal to celebrate a family birthday! All ages and dietary requirements were efficiently catered for by the pleasant staff. The carvery staff were great, making sure the Birthday Girl (age 6) got just what she wanted and that the non meat eaters, having the veggie option, got the vegetarian gravy. Wouldn't hesitate in coming back for more birthday celebrations soon!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzythecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, Manager at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank you for finding time to review your recent visit to The Red Sails. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and we really appreciate your feedback. Providing our guests with the best possible food and service is our main aim so please let us know if there is anything we can do to make The Red Sails better! We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards The Red Sails Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sails also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Red Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing