We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kingston-upon-Hull
Post
Inbox
Search

“Vegetarian Gravy”
Review of Red Sails

Red Sails
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Red Sails is located at The Beacon (HU3 4AE) adjacent to St Andrews Quay Retail Park. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you, along with our freshly cooked Carvery, delicious menu and fantastic kid's menu. There is something for everyone! Keep the children entertained with the indoor toddler play area and children's gaming machines. For warmer days, we offer a children's outdoor activity park and an external dining area. Why not relax in our comfortable setting and try our wide range of soft drinks, hot beverages, lagers, wines and cask ales. The Red Sails is a great place to socialise or take advantage of the free wifi access for those working lunches. No booking is required so just turn up on the day. Fancy having breakfast here? Breakfast is served daily from 10am-12pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Red Sails soon.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Impromptu visit with my partner. This is our go to place now for carvery. We both enjoy the food & on this visit the chef was really nice & when I asked for 2 vegetarian gravy he said oh don’t worry I will get you a large one & after serving me went straight into the kitchen & ordered it.

This is the first time in all my visits that i have not had to wait for the gravy to be brought to me generally 5 mins after I have got my food. Also normally it is the smallest gravy & I have to ask for a 2nd one. I wish I had got his name because he was spot on & gave great service

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, Manager at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for finding time to review your recent visit to The Red Sails. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and we really appreciate your feedback. Providing our guests with the best possible food and service is our main aim so please let us know if there is anything we can do to make The Red Sails better! We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards The Red Sails Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First time at this pub/restaurant.
Very good menu as well as carvery a choice of curry.fish and chips pizza.burger and vegertarian meals.
Place was clean pleasant staff.
What was interesting was a charging point for electric cars.
We had the carvery. Medium size 6'99 the Beef was a bit fatty but this happens some time's.
A limited range of vegetables and Yorkshire puds to go with meat.
What let it down was all our meals were not hot enough. All vegetables needed to be warmer.
Would go again but next time would inform staff meals not hot enough.
It was after2'30 pm when we ate

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank jeffmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, Manager at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for finding time to review your recent visit to The Red Sails. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and we really appreciate your feedback. Providing our guests with the best possible food and service is our main aim so please let us know if there is anything we can do to make The Red Sails better! We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards The Red Sails Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Top quality food, mixed grill was amazing, carvery is the best in hull, definitely recommend for families, staff very welcoming, great value for money. Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank wallyhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, Manager at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2019

Hi, Thank you for finding time to review your recent visit to The Red Sails. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and we really appreciate your feedback. Providing our guests with the best possible food and service is our main aim so please let us know if there is anything we can do to make The Red Sails better! We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind Regards The Red Sails Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

We have just returned from the red sails, after having a car very. We know it was 7.30pm, but we’re extremely disappointed, the veggies were not very hot, beef was quite tough, this is the 3rd time now in about 2months , it’s been like this. We thought we treat the mum in law,& give it another chance ,after not been for a few weeks.
We’ve now decided we probably won’t come again quite a while. Went it first opened it was second to non, it was top class for carvery, & now seems to have gone of the boil.
The cast iron pots have lids , why are they not being used,when it’s quite to help keep the food hot.
Thank you Lynda

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, Manager at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Hi and thanks for your review.
We’re sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. The time of day is irrelevant as we believe in delivering a great carvery all day.
However rather than needing to take your issues to social media we could have quickly solved them for you in house. Furthermore we didnt receive any other issues with regards the carvery when you visited.
If you do come back to visit us then we hope we can change your perceptions and you join the other fantastic reviews that we receive.
Once again thanks for your feedback and please be assured that your comments are noted and fed back to the team.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019 via mobile

It’s a shame there isn’t a loyalty card as been 3 times this week.

Went Monday with my Mum and we both had the medium carvery which was awesome as always. Tuesday was with my uni friends and I had the carvery again and Thursday was with som either friends and had a change as was burger night and had the Yee-Ha burger after my friends recommended it and yeah, loved it.

Always made to feel welcome, especially Jordan and the Manager Gavin.

Hopefully see you again soon.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Lefty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSailsHull, Manager at Red Sails, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Hi,
Thank you for finding time to review your recent visit to The Red Sails.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant and we really appreciate your feedback.
Providing our guests with the best possible food and service is our main aim so please let us know if there is anything we can do to make The Red Sails better!
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind Regards
The Red Sails Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sails also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Red Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing