We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food and service .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent food and service .”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited the resteraunt there befor a visit to the theatre .
The staff were attentive and very efficient .
The resteraunt was nicely decorated and there was a friendly atmosphere .
The food was of a good standard , the menu was ok , the prices were ok .
Overall I would dine at this place again and would recomend it for an informal meal .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ban1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    182
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
116
203
50
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

First off can I just mention I am not one to complain about many things. Myself and my husband have travelled a lot and eaten and stayed at many places. We like to think we're fair when it comes to reviewing.

Okay, so we chose The Kingston Theatre Hotel last year for our wedding Reception because of its excellent location, because of the style of the building and because of its good reviews...

The staff were helpful when we were planning the wedding and all seemed to be going well

On the actual day however, the staff were very rude and unhelpful. We felt like we were an inconvenience by being there!

My husband had been to the hotel the day before our wedding to discuss how the room should be set up -well they must have a bad memory as it was nothing like arranged - the wedding cake was at the back of the room so hardly anyone saw it, and our photo board which we had carefully made, was tucked behind the door next to the bar where nobody could see :(

The DJ was part of the cost and he was terrible! He kept disappearing for ten-fifteen minutes at a time - we suspect he was DJing at the downstairs party as well!!

Then the food came out . The first lot was buffet food for our day guests - there was barely anything there. Myself and my husband were starving because we hardly ate - leaving our guests to help themselves first meant there was nothing left for us! Even though we'd paid for more guests than were actually there, so there should have been plenty of food. It was a little embarrassing.

Then the evening food came out - chicken curry, vegetable curry and beef strogonnof - but there was no vegetarian option! Had they forgot , we'll never know! My husband spoke with staff and they told us each individual vegetarian must go and order theirs at the bar.

The food that was served wasn't all that . Also, I was told more than once by some miserable female staff member to 'get out of the way' - charming! (if she spoke like that to the bride i hate to think how she spoke to our guests)

The next morning when we all went down for breakfast the manager/owner (Gary) never even acknowledged us. We must have spent thousands with them;- hundreds at the bar, not to mention the money we paid for the venue, food, the rooms (all our family stayed over) and the breakfast. Not even a thank you or how was it?

We were disappointed with the rudeness more than anything else!

AVOID!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_Dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Friendly staff on recception. We stayed in the Victorian Suites which were only £60/night. The rooms were HUGE and very, very comfortable and clean. The bathroom too was HUGE. I would recommend this hotel. Much better than the Hallmark hotel in Hull, that was truly awful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flembo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Friendly staff on recception. We stayed in the Victorian Suites which were only £60/night. The rooms were HUGE and very, very comfortable and clean. The bathroom too was HUGE. I would recommend this hotel. Much better than the Hallmark hotel in Hull, that was truly awful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flembo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have used the Kingston Theatre Hotel and facilities on many occasions over the last 10 years or more for our own and family weddings and parties and work related accommodation and have never been let down. The location for wedding photos in the adjacent Kingston Square gardens is perfect in summer and you could not pick a better small family run hotel for anybody visiting the theatre less than 100 yards away. If there is a single criticism it is the on street parking outside which requires to be monitored constantly due to the overeager parking wardens who are ready to pounce the second your ticket runs out. Good tip to get the night porter to put a ticket on for you so that you do not have to get up at the crack of dawn after a good night out.

Room Tip: Either of the suites or a room at the front of the hotel overlooking Kingston Square are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for for two nights, we had a double and a single room for our daughter, booked over the net for £140 total, breakfast included. The hotel was fairly easy to find, the greating on arrival was pleasant and we were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were tidy and to a good standard of cleanliness. (The double bed we had was a bit on the small size but acceptable) The bathrooms were very clean and looked as if they had had a recent re-fit.
Although advertised with no parking we had no trouble parking right ouside the front of the hotel in the small sqaure courtyard area. The parking is pay at meter and free from 6.00pm to 8.00am.
The rooms we had were numbers 8 and 6, these were both very quite at night, even with a function taking place.
We will certainly be using this hotel again when visiting our son in Hull. We recomend this hotel for its value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_barlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilberdyke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked a Xmas evening dinner a £33 each.poor food all food over cooked served roast potatoes with salmon, why? Disco dull . Did not stay overnight .feel like we was rip off. Ps still was hunger after meal.poor poor

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston-upon-Hull
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Theatre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Theatre Hotel

Property: Kingston Theatre Hotel
Address: 1-2 Kingston Square, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingston Theatre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming and accommodating 'The Kingston Theatre Hotel' has delivered Some 30 years of uninterrupted service, independently owned by the Osborne family and located in the heart of the city centre - opposite the Hull New Theatre, Overlooking the Beautiful Kingston Gardens, we are known for our warm, friendly and convivial atmosphere, with no hard and fast rules you find in larger hotel chains.Providing 28 very well appointed bedrooms from cosy doubles to large executive rooms with a wide variety of amenities including Bathrobes Slippers Mineral water and complimentary Wi-Fi .Our award winning restaurant & bar offers a wide selection of freshly prepared dishes and a good selection of wines, spirits and beers.Our policy of attention to detail, quality accommodation at sensible prices and unrivalled service has won us many friends over the years, come and see first- hand, we'd be delighted to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Kingston Theatre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Theatre Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing