We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Service”
Review of 13 Bistro & Bar - CLOSED

13 Bistro & Bar
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super Service”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a find this bistro is. There is no real clue of what awaits you inside from the unassuming entrance, but go up the stairs and you receive a wonderful welcome and brilliant service that just never seems to stop. The setting is great with some lovely views over the marina. The food was great and sensibly priced with a nice mix of fish, steaks, burger and chicken amongst other things and delicious desserts. Overall a great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    22
    10
    5
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great place and it was in Hull!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited early saturday evening 1st June having seen a review in the local paper that wrongly suggested the food is pricey! The menu is very reasonably priced as is the wine list. The homemade fishcakes I ordered were excellent and there was plenty of them. The location is within a converted warehouse on Hull marina, an area that many people miss when visiting Hull, but well worth the effort of finding it. Needless to say I'll be visiting again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leaky59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really cosy, comfortable, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here after reading the reviews on trip advisor. This restaurant is tucked away in a warehouse as its title suggests...you would never know it was there so its a nice suprise when you walk in. It is next to the marina which appears to be a nice area and you feel safe outside. Really nice atmosphere with a musician singing and playing his guitar in the corner-would happily sit and listen to him all night. Inside it was very well presented, very clean and comfortable and relaxed. You do not feel intimidated here and feel that you have to get overdressed but on the other hand it has some class. The food we ordered was nice but I do wish there was more choice on the menu which was mainly steak, fish and chicken in sauce options. I didnt enjoy my main meal but think that it was as it was something i wouldn't have normally chosen not due to lack of quality. The desserts were really good and overall the meal was not overpriced. I would definetly come back again and try something else on the menu-probably a Sunday when there are roast dinner options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnjohnjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch and service!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having been at a loose end on a sunny afternoon we decided to pop into town for some lunch, bored of our usual hangouts we hit trip advisor to find somewhere new to try and stumbled upon this place. We were greeted by the owner who invited us to sit on the terrace with our drinks while our food was prepared. The decor is sympathetic to the buildings heritage yet modern and inviting, the food was delicious and well priced and the service was very friendly and welcoming. I had a chat with the chap who owns the restraint and was surprised to learn they had only been open 4 weeks, clearly a man who knows how to run a resteraunt! We will definitely be back for the evening menu and the live music nights, could be a new favourite haunt of ours! Excellent!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nathan_beasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Girls night out”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had the delightful experience of visiting this new venue and wow is all I can say. We needed a classy joint like this and it didn't dissapoint. Set out with great thought on seating ,tables being well spaced, ambience and decor, unobtrusive service and a lovely waiter to look after us. The owner has carefully cornered a very lucrative market and we wish him luck with this new venture. Its admirable to try something new in these trying financial times. For those reading, it's midway between top fine dining and a gastropub. Not pretentious, fussy or at all posh, but fantastic food, ambience and service. I have tried the very top on the marina and came away unimpressed and hungry. Not here, its good wholesome food, plenty of choice, excellent sauces and beautiful crockery. The hunters chicken and beef stroganoff being firm favorites. [please give me the recipe for the sauce] The halloumi starter was also lovely. Will definately be going again and notice the restaurants elevation to no. 1 status. Well done and keep up the good work, fabulous.I would also consider it for an after work cocktail stop as it is so nice. Hopefully their mojitos are as good as the food. All in all, the three of us can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perfectweekend_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 13 Bistro & Bar also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing