We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Expectations met - THE REVIEWS REALLY ARE TRUE!!”
The south facing sunny exterior to Horseshoe cottage, sunny walled courtyard; BBQ and eating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The south facing sunny exterior to Horseshoe cottage, sunny walled courtyard; BBQ and eating area
Frontage of Nordham Cottages, in quiet Nordham with stunning Yorkshire Wold walks from the doorstep A warm welcome at Nordham Cottages - 'time for tea'  in Horseshoe's sunny walled cour
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The south facing sunny exterior to Horseshoe cottage, sunny walled courtyard; BBQ and eating area
Frontage of Nordham Cottages, in quiet Nordham with stunning Yorkshire Wold walks from the doorstep
A warm welcome at Nordham Cottages - 'time for tea'  in Horseshoe's sunny walled cour
or tea infront of the fire in the cosy sitting room at Horseshoe Cottage, a treat for a chilly day.
Horseshoe sitting room - cosy & relaxing after a day out walking/ sight-seeing. Can link to Bayt
Dining room next to  kitchen which sits 5, 8 if linked with Baytree. TV/DVD/video & games/book s
Well appointed kitchen at Horseshoe Cottage, with microwave, dishwasher & washer, even a food mi
Kitchen larder with fridge, and shelves for your food box . Veg basket bought to the door -in season
Horseshoe cottage master bedroom with kingsized bed, TV & Auzzi beach huts canvas from our trave
Extra comforable twin & new deep matresses ensure a good nights sleep. Plus pull out bed if need
Horseshoe's single bedroom, with S facing view of courtyard. The room has a full width pull-out
Quality Assured - we have high standards ourselves & want you to be assured of cleanliness &
Parkland, 2 minutes from the door -  lovely 1/2 hour 'round trip' walk from the cottage, u
Enjoy the great walks we have on the doorstep; plenty of walk suggestions & maps for  village/be
One of our clients, discovered a new walking route and drew us this lovely map. Why not try it?
Horses in the paddocks nearby on the picturesque walk to Hotham, where there's a good pub with
The Wolds Way is within walking distance - stunning peaceful countryside,  without hoards of people
Bay Tree Cottage next door,( which can interlink with Horseshoe), ideal for couples for a w/e break
Bay Tree Cottage sitting room, original features.Looks out at yorkshire stone walls, accross street.
Bay Tree Cottage sitting room, cosy and charming, with original features. Can interlink to Horseshoe
Bay Tree, next door to Horseshoe:King sized bed in cottage bedroom, with country fire-place and TV.
Walk along the stream to the bridge near Horseshoe Cottage & enjoy the streamside,  views &
Our resident duck and last years ducklings on their way to the stream. She returns every yr to nest!
Spring at Nordham Cottages S facing courtyard with bluebells/daffodils. In 2014 we were raised to 4*
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
499alison...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expectations met - THE REVIEWS REALLY ARE TRUE!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Never know whether to expect the reality to match the hype.............but in this case you really get everything and more.

The cottage is delightful - quaint, quirky, and comfortable. Heating was excellent, loads of hot water for showers and access is very easy (parking better than expected.) We were touched by the welcome cake (lemon drizzle) which was still warm and absolutely delicious - tea and cake on arrival was an unexpected bonus. The bowl of fresh eggs was also a lovely thought. Every room was immaculately clean and obviously kept in very good order, as was the garden - beautiful spring flowers.

We enjoyed helpful input from the lovely owners, Louise and Tom, and were impressed by their thoughtfulness at printing off City of Culture options for the month. This resulted in our group adding a visit to the Ferens Art Gallery to our busy itinerary (we had so much to see this weekend!)

If you are considering this cottage, I can confirm that it is excellent value for money and the area is definitely worth a visit. You will be hard pressed to find better, so follow this recommendation with confidence and see for yourself......

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2017
Thank you Alison for your kind words. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your time together at Horseshoe cottage. We really hope to provide not just a homely place to stay, we aim to offer an experience.
Look forward to seeing you all again,
Best wishes,
Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulwat53
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect home from home”
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spending some time working in Humberside and this little cottage jumped out at me as being a suitable place to stay for a few weeks. So I booked it. And I am so glad I did.it was ideal in every way. Situated in a quiet little village just seconds from the A63 with easy access to Hull and Brough station (direct trains to London and Manchester) and just a short distance from the village of South Cave (btw if you come here you MUST try the Gallery bistro) and a short drive to York and the coast.
The cottage itself is immaculate. Beautifully presented and decorated in a simple but cosy and 'country cottage' style. It is comprehensively equipped and I can honestly say that in the 4 weeks I was here I never once felt that there was something that should have been supplied that wasn't. The wifi works perfectly and there are docking stations for iPhones to charge. The galley kitchen has everything you need and was spotlessly clean.
There are two bathrooms; if, like me you like a shower with a decent flow, suggest you go for the downstairs one although the the electric Mira upstairs does the job.
The bedrooms are beautifully appointed and I can honestly say that the main double is one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Anywhere. Ever.
Downsides? Erm. None. Except that now that people have read all the totally justified rave reviews about this place It will probably be harder for me to get a booking the next time!!
Next time? Would I return?
Already booked.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2016
Another happy customer, thanks Paul for your kind words. We try our best and it's nice to know our customers enjoy the homely cottage experience we are trying to provide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Y
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Christmas Cosiness”
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We needed somewhere to stay in rural East Yorkshire for the Christmas period and found the Martin's beautiful cottage. What made it utterly wonderful was finding out about the Barn next door which we were able to use for our Chritsmas Day Party and host 16 family in a wonderful location.

We had such a wonderful time, we were able to have my Father's 69th Birthday party with 20 guests in the same place. Roaring log fires, a long table and comfortable, cosy settings.

The cottage was lovely too. We loved the homeliness of it and Horseshoe cottage had all the amenities we could want. We had a great time and our small children (2 and 4) were catered for wonderfully. We loved the effort our hosts had put into the cottage so it all looked wonderfully Christmassy. Thankyou so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches such as the Christmas decorations
Liked least: Internet connection
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellybrow...
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An amazing home from home with lots of extras - everything was well presented and communication was easy. We stayed for 15 nights whilst visiting family in the area - from day one we felt relaxed and at home. Two bathrooms real bonus with four adults sharing. Would love to return one day - great location for exploring the region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Old world charm and comfort
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy B
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Tranquil cosy home from home”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Extremely comfortable cottage with everything you need in your home from home. Made special by the warm welcome from Louise and the basket of fresh fruit and veg from her gardens. The homemade biscuits delicious thanks!
A lot of thought has gone into providing everything you could need to enhance your stay - information about what's on, places to visit. A Great location for exploring Yorkshire!
I would have no problem recommending this cottage and hope to be able to revisit in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B
1 review
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Horseshoe Cottage over our wedding weekend in June 2015, and the hospitality of Louise helped to make the weekend extra special and memorable. The cottage was very well looked after, and the finishing touches such as the fresh flowers and sweet treats made it feel like home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSut
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at both Horseshoe and Bay Tree Cottages over the Christmas period, whilst on a trip back to the UK to visit family and friends in the area. The welcome from Louise was exceptional and the standards in both properties were well above expectations. Everything had been thought of - even to a Christmas tree and decorations - and there was everything you could possibly need - a real home from home. We also rented the adjacent function room - a converted barn - for a family dinner party party which was also a delightful room with ample space and log fires for our get together. Overall highly recommended and we wouldn't hesitate to return - John & Julie (Dubai expats).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing