We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Ibis Hull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Hull
Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holgate30
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 864 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel just before Christmas due to a works Christmas Party. Just stayed the one night and wanted somewhere cheep and cheerful. The Hotel is very close to the main shopping areas and reasonably close to the Old Town where most of the bars and restaurants are situated. They do not have parking but a multi story is approx 5 minutes walk away and cost Just over £6.00 for overnight. The room in the hotel was clean and warm and had a small but stylish shower room and WC and the bed was very comfortable. I paid in advance and it cost £27.00 which was very reasonable for what you get. They had an offer on at the time for breakfast at £5.00 instead of normal £7.50 with a good selection of English or Continental choices. The Hotel is situated on a main road so if your a light sleeper may be worth asking for a room at the back. There are some late night bars nearby and some people said this used to be a Red Light area but I never heard or saw anything untoward.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveRobbo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Ibis Hull. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on 31st December to January 1st. Service was excellent both when enquiring and when I arrived at the hotel. Check in was also a simple process. The rooms were simple and basic, but comfortable and welcoming. However, the window was broken and would not shut, therefore was freezing all night even with two duvets on. Did not take the option of having meals there, so cannot make a comment about that. However, reception is 24/7 as are some of the snacks that can be made available for you. Checking out was once again a simple experience in comparison to some other hotels. Would stay again, cheap and cheerful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Ibis Hull. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the windows which we are addressing.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times as I often visit Hull with work. It's great: central location, clean rooms, comfy beds and staff who really make an effort to help. Plus I have never had to pay more than £35 a night. It's not a luxury hotel by any means, but I really can't fault it. Look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiMagenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Myself and a colleague (along with others from different nhs trusts) stayed at the IBIS hotel for 5 days in Jan 2012 and then again for 5 day in March and overnight for our final exam inApril 2012.
The hotel is clean, warm and friendly and near the central area of town. Although we were attending a course, we had a wonderful time. The breakfast which we had included was very nice and you couldhelp yourslef to whatever you liked. The hotel is basic but actually very comforting. The prices are very good and the staff were really nice and always on hand to help. The only negative thing I would say about hte hotel is that the bar prices are a bit on the dear side. Sort that out and youve got yourself a winner!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillybean_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel was clean and rooms also, good staff, an enjoyable stay. Only had early breakfast but this we inexpensive and good value for money. Situation ideal for the coach/train station. Will definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting Hull.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t_hildyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Hull and I look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Hull for 1 night on Saturday 1 December 2012. We were there with 40 others on a Christmas Shopping trip organised by our sports and social club. We did a similar trip last year and ended up at an Ibis in Birmingham (which unfortunately wasn’t very good). So as you can imagine, when we pulled up at the Ibis Hull there was an almighty groan from everyone in the coach that had been on last year’s trip. We assumed that we would be getting a similar standard to last year…….however…..we were so wrong!

After pulling up outside a lady from the hotel boarded the bus and welcomed us to the Ibis Hull and explained that we had all been pre-checked in and they would give us our keycards whilst still on the coach. That meant we could all go straight to our rooms. Last year at the Ibis at Birmingham we waited in a big line at reception while they checked us in individually. This took over 30 minutes for everyone to be checked in. Not this time. We were off to a great start.

The rooms were standard Ibis rooms with comfortable beds and the bathroom pod in the corner. After a shower and a short rest we went down at 7pm to a set 3 course Christmas dinner which was included in the price we paid. We also got complimentary wine (red and white), beer, lager and water on the tables. This was renewed where necessary for two hours until 9pm.

The meal was very pleasant, the main course a self service carvery with turkey. I really enjoyed it and so did everyone on our table. much better than last years offering. They then offered us coffees to finish off the meal.

At about 8.55pm you’d expect that the staff would disappear until after 9pm when the complimentary alcohol session ended. Not at all…!!! They came around all the tables asking if we wanted anymore bottles of wine or top ups before 9pm. Excellent service!

All of the staff were very helpful and really nice. I would like to especially pick out Colette who was always very attentive and helpful and worked very hard. And the maintenance guy who seemed to do everything from fixing doors, thermostats on the roof, serving drinks, clearing tables etc etc.

We had a good nights sleep and breakfast the next morning was self service with a good selection of cereals and hot breakfast, toast, tea, OJ, coffee etc on offer. Then we went shopping. I also made good use of the free WiFi in the reception area whilst we were waiting for the coach.

We had a great time at the Hull Ibis and would have no hesitation in stopping here again if ever we are in Hull.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisHullManager, General Manager at Ibis Hull, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Hull. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Phil Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#10 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
673 reviews
3 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hull

Address: Osbourne Street | Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: $43 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hull 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Hull hotel is located 1 km from Hull town centre and Hull Theatre, just 500 m from the railway station, close to Costello Stadium and Queens Gardens. Book one of our 106 ventilation cooled rooms with wireless Internet access (including six adapted for guests with limited mobility) and make the most of the hotel amenitites on offer, the Le Nautique restaurant, a bar offering snacks 24 hours 7 days and public parking. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hull Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Ibis Hotel Hull
Ibis Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing