We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelled as a couple”
Review of Pearson Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingston-upon-Hull
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pearson Park Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
1 review
“Travelled as a couple”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed 3 nights . We found the hotel to be very comfortable and welcoming.our room was overlooking the park and very pleasant the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was well appointed,and we were very satisfied with the room.the breakfast was adequate even if you had to make your own drinks.the staff were so friendly and helpful .i would definitely stay here again,it was such good value for money

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
policebooks, Manager at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
It is so nice to receive a pleasant review. It show we are getting there and with a little fine tuning we can offer a good service.
We certainly hope to see you both again.
Mr Calligan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    13
    14
    10
See reviews for
11
20
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having stayed in this hotel for the last nine years under the old management with no complaint regarding anything, we were naturally anxious about our last visit under the new management, but thought everything would be fine. How wrong could we be? Our party had travelled 300 miles from Scotland and over 200 miles from the South East of England as well as Hull for our annual event. As we arrived to meet up with them we were warned that things had changed and not for the good. We sat down for our meal and immediately there was a problem as they had not cooked enough as the numbers were wrong. We waited and the starter eventually arrived and all was not well with that. Then as we waited even longer for the main course and when it finally arrived it was inedible. The lamb was almost raw and the mashed potato and peas which were cold were covered in a gravy which had become congealed as that too was cold. The fish was smothered in a cheese sauce to disguise it's true horribleness. Most of it was send back. The chocolate torte was like an angel delight mixture which had been frozen then defrosted to slop. No coffee was served and we were told to 'get it from the bar'. The barman was not interested in either serving coffee or alcoholic drinks as he was involved in a drinking game with some wedding guests. We were told if we wanted silver service we would have to pay more next time. We won't be back EVER. I was even whacked over the head in the lounge as a guest was drunkenly chasing a barman around the floor...like a drunken house party. Disgraceful...no management there on site to address the problems. Can't blame the cook or the waitress they were trying to make the best of a bad job. Cannot not find one good thing to say. This hotel will not survive with these standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ayorkshirelassHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
policebooks, Manager at Pearson Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
A bit harsh bearing in mind your group brough 3 more people, i.e. 9 more plates for chef. They did 78 three course meals that day. No other complaints re food but will take your points up with the chefs. The tall man at the bar owns the Hotel and he had trouble shutting the bar as both parties wanted to carry on.
Generally a good time had by (nearly) all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for the second time this May. Last time was a few years ago when it had different owners. This hotel is in a great location overlooking the park and within walking distance of lots of amenities on The Avenues and Newland Avenue. I was looking forward to seeing how the new owners were improving the place but was disappointed. There was no sign of any improvements to the property, and the breakfast was pretty abysmal...poor service, coffee out of a jar, and had to make it yourself, tea bags and cups, no teapot, no table cloths on bar tables at breakfast. On a plus note the bed was comfy with nice fresh white cotton linen, and it was very quiet so I had a good night's sleep. Come on new owners...sort out the service at breakfast...it would not be too much to have tea in a pot and coffee in a cafetiere, brought to the table.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sproatley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What can I say about Pearson Park Hotel?

Well as soon as I walked in the place I was greeted by a lovely warm atmosphere, Jake the barman comes across as an all round good guy is a laugh a minute, the rest of the staff are all very friendly although Dominic usually has a stressed look about him but I gather that's normal for him ;)

The hotel itself is full of Victorian splendour, high ceilings and mahogany aplenty, and the views across the park are lovely, it's just such a relaxing place, no booming music or fighting to get to the bar, apologies if that's not your thing but it suits me down to the ground!

I have sampled the food, it's unfortunately, in my opinion, not the best, and if the owners are serious about profiting from this area of their business then they need to up their game considerably, as there are restaurants aplenty to suit any cultural palate within a short walking distance, on either Beverley Road, Princes Avenue or Newland Avenue. If they don't seek to improve this area of their business in the near future then I can only assume that they have little interest in attracting food customers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

About 20 of us booked here for a University Reunion mainly on the promise made to me in February that the bar would remain open as long as we wanted. It didn't. I'm fairly sure that the amount of money we'd have spent over the two nights would have meant a healthy profit for the hotel.

Room Tip: Get one that gets serviced as clean towels are nice and a working cistern that refills in less than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked a double room online, the day we were intending to stay. I rang to check our confirmation at tea-time and the staff were happy to accommodate our late arrival (22:30).

At £49 for the room including B&B it was a reasonably priced to book via the web, prices quoted in the hotel were £10-15 higher per room, although the website does say from £49.

The hotel is situated at the North East end of Pearson Park in Hull. This is close to both Beverley Road (a main road into the city), "The Avenues" a conservation area with lots of Victorian style houses and Princes Avenue with an eclectic mix of bars and restaurants.

We were visiting friends and know the area well, but the hotel and Pearson Park itself are not the easiest to gain access to by car if you don't know the route. Parking outside the hotel is plentiful, with both a car park and on-street parking.

Our room (number 19) overlooked the park and was large and clean with an en-suite with a bath with a shower over. All the regular amenities were provided - hair dryer, kettle etc, although we did have to hunt for a bath towel and found one in the wardrobe!

We couldn't fault the place for being clean and tidy, with the guy in charge being welcoming and friendly. Other staff were a little tardy when it came to service e.g. there was no hint of a smile and no ice at the bar, although the bar still looked interestingly busy at 23:00 for a hotel away from the city centre.

The breakfast was decent, with a choice of cereals, toast and a Full English. There were a variety of herbal teas, jams, marmalades and instant coffee.

The decor does seem a little dated, especially the taxidermy animals, patterned carpets and mahogany woodwork. The card machine was out of action also - we just paid in cash.

Overall, when compared to similar priced hotels, it is a good option, especially if you want breakfast included and to be nearer to the University rather than the city centre. I would look at this as an option again, for ease of booking, basic comforts, cleanliness and its location.

Just note this hotel is not what I would class as a romantic get away ... especially as it clearly attracts contract workers (builders in white vans) who chat loudly over mobile phones next to you at breakfast! Although we traveled as a couple I have ticked family as this would be more appropriate. Rooms would easily accommodate a travel cot or additional bed, and it looks like there are also bedrooms on the ground floor. The park is great for kids with a play area, duck pond and plenty of space for picnics.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

No major complaints, fairly priced accommodation with large rooms and comfortable beds. Staff on the whole friendly. Two complaints though, shower was just a trickle of water, and one night returned around 11.30 to find staff drinking at the bar, when we requested a drink were told the bar was closed and it was a staff only drink ! Mmm...thought the rule was that hotel guests could drink in the bar ...a bit off putting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionking14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
766 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,077 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cornmill Hotel
Cornmill Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearson Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearson Park Hotel

Property: Pearson Park Hotel
Address: 70-72 Pearson Park | Hull, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 2TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pearson Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Hotel Pearson Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing