We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't sure what to expect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Deep

The Deep
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in Hull, The Deep is an award winning aquarium home to 3,500 fish including green sawfish, spectacular sharks, rays and a colony of Gentoo penguins. Journey through the story of the world's oceans travelling through a unique blend of spectacular marine life from warm tropical waters to the cold Antarctic seas. Enjoy the fun and educational interactive and audio-visual presentations on your voyage of discovery. Highlights include daily dive shows and animal presentations where you can see our divers hand feed the animals. Join in with our fantastic touch pool sessions at Discovery Corner at the Lagoon of Light and learn about some of the smaller native species to the UK shores. Visit The Deep's newest residents, a colony of Gentoo penguins in chilly The Kingdom of Ice and learn more about the threats to their habitat, issues surrounding climate change and ocean acidification as well as animal biology and food chains. Finally walk through the amazing glass tunnel and take in the stunning marine life swimming all around you, before taking a ride in the glass lift through the 10m Endless Oceans exhibit. Tickets cost: Adults £12.00 Children £10.00 Under 3s free Senior/student £11.00 Family of 4 £39.50 Family of 5 £47.50 You can save 10% by booking your tickets online.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wasn't sure what to expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

After hearing mixed reports about The Deep I wasn't sure what to expect. We found it very easy to get there, thanks to the brown signs, but on arrival we found the carpark full but was directed to another local carpark, it cost £2 for 4 hours, which was just about long enough.We had prepaid for our tickets before we went but found that we still had to queue to get in, We visited the café before we started and found a good selection of hot and cold food and it wasn't overpriced, we had 3 hot adult meals, one hot child meal and 4 drinks for just over £22. Once we started our journey of The Deep we all found it very interesting, lots of hands on things for the children to do. The penguins were lovely to watch and the highlight of the visit was watching the divers in the huge tank feeding the fish, the fish in there were amazing. We enjoyed going up in the fish tank lift but I was disappointed by the walk through tunnel because when I had seen pictures of it, it looked much longer. The journey ended through a very well stocked gift shop, with prices starting from under a pound. we all enjoyed our visit to The Deep and also our drive over the Humber Bridge.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your feedback, I hope you make the most of the Day Plus Pass scheme and come back and visit us soon.

Kind regards

The Deep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,457
    1,009
    456
    158
    100
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Visited today with two children (4 and 7). I thought the price was quite steep, £30.50, even though you do get to return free for a whole year it is not somewhere we would rush back to.

I read the reviews on here before going so luckily we turned up about 20 mins before the 10am opening time. There was already a queue forming so I would recommend all to stick to the advice on the website of arriving early or later in the day. At lunch time the queues were around 45 minutes. Be aware that if you arrive early and get straight in you will miss most of the exciting things happening during the day unless you are happy to wait around, such as the discovery cove which has its first showing half an hour after opening but only takes 5 minutes to reach.

The penguin enclosure was on the small side, as were the viewing areas which were quite crowded. The video was interesting but I don't know why it is only shown 3 times per day when it is only 5 minutes long.

The children were a bit too young to want to read every bit of information so we skipped some bits, but taking our time we still managed to complete the whole thing in one hour! which was very disappointing! luckily we could go round a second time to lengthen the day out a bit.

On the second trip round we picked up the pole to pole activity sheet to extend the time we spent in the exhibition, however the clues were poorly located and we couldn't find the last three.

Overall a very disappointing 'day out' and I would not hurry back, there are much cheaper days out that keep the kids entertained for longer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you did not feel The Deep was value for money. We feel that our ticket prices are very reasonable for the what you experience at The Deep and as you stated as part of the gift aid scheme we offer FREE entry for 12 months.

During school holidays we can get very busy so we do advise quieter times for visitors to arrive to help. The film of the penguins journey is advertised at three times through out the day but in busy periods we do advise that it will be shown more frequently at busier times, this can be effected by other activities we have going on especially through the school holidays.

I hope that you take advantage of the Day Pass Plus scheme and visit us again.

Kind regards

The Deep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull. England
Level Contributor
269 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Went with an adult when the Deep first opened and really enjoyed it. Today took 3 grandchildren ages 6,10 and 12. They had all been before so knew what to expect but really wanted to go back.
The children just want to play on interactive displays and don't seem interested in reading about the different species. They just seem to want to get round as quick as possible and dash from one thing to another. We would have finished within the hour if I hadn't stopped them and got them interested in answering questions on the displays.
The aquariums were very interesting but there were so many people clamouring to be at the front that it was a bit of a free for all. We got there for 10am on a Friday and large queues had already formed. It is the school holidays so I expected it to be busy. Managed to park ok it costs £2 for 4 hours. When we came out at 12.30 the queues were even longer. If you book online it says you still have to wait in the long queue although one of the staff told me you can go through another door for quicker entry. There was no indication of this at the entry to the Deep. What would be better is if there were 2 different entrances 1 to buy tickets and 1 for tickets bought online. I think another idea would be to book in advance and have timed entries so that they limit the number of people per hour at peak times to stop overcrowding. This is done at the Forbidden Corner in North Yorkshire and works very well.
The penguins were lovely and a major draw so very busy all the time.
There is a small soft play area for very young children I really think there needs to be more play areas for the older children to let off steam. Quieter after 2pm so a good time to visit or when the children are back at school.
I think it is expensive for the amount of time it takes to see everything. Probably won't come back again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank shazzy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your feedback. As you stated during the school holidays we do get very busy and so we do advise visitors of our quieter times to visit.
We feel our ticket prices are reasonable for what you get especially with our Day Plus Pass scheme where you can come back and visit The Deep for the following 12 months.

I hope you take advantage of the 12 month pass and come visit us again.

Kind regards

The Deep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

During a family holiday to Filey we decided to take the children to an attraction and we chose the deep over the sea life centre and came home feeling disappointed. The first impression was having to pay for parking which was a surprise. We paid around £37 for a family ticket that felt reasonable and the attraction itself was quite educational and probably better for older children. The penguins was a bit small and felt like an afterthought. The best part was the number of viewing points to the deep water tank and the children enjoyed seeing the different types of fish including sharks, sawfish and stingray. My take home memory unfortunately will be the poor customer service throughout the centre. The staff seemed very lethargic and not very friendly. If this was different I would have rated the experience a lot higher but the unfriendly person on the welcome desk, staff member shouting in the play area and the lady pushing the checkout staff member in the shop to choose what size T-shirt he needed for his uniform was laughable. Not sure I would rush back and wish we had visited The Sea Life Centre.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi

I am happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the attractions at The Deep.
I am sorry to hear your comments regarding staff members whilst you were here. Customer service is at the heart of The Deep and we strive to ensure that all our visitors receive high standards of customer service.

Your comments will be passed on to our operations manager who will feedback to all staff on the issues you have mentioned.

Kind regards

The Deep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We had our second visit to The Deep, we enjoyed it just as much this time as the last, and the Penguins were a fantastic addition. Well done, will be here again next year.

Helpful?
Thank Chrisbates2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your great feedback!
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you come back soon with your Day Plus Pass!.

Kind regards

The Deep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deep also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Deep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing