We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience, great value & A+ staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
487 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Excellent experience, great value & A+ staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The good: reception staff immediately moved me to correct room when I arrived & found incorrect bed set up in booked room, even though they were pretty full, room service delivery staff are outstanding & friendly, very helpful & willing to go the extra mile, room service food choices very impressive & good prices, quality is great too, the TV is a good size & great picture as is the computer desk which has everything a tech savvy person needs to get going, the rooms are extremely spacious & most luxurious, cleaning staff gave me own personal conditioner as hotel doesn't provide it & I didn't bring any, breakfast amazing choices - you will not be unhappy or hungry, morning chef friendly & welcoming, breakfast staff smiling, welcoming & helpful, most rooms newly renovated & are beautiful surroundings. great indoor swimming pool & gym facilities with friendly gym staff, beautiful views of marina from hotel.
The bad: No hotel guide in my room so had to call reception to find out about hotel facilities, coffee cups in room dirty & I needed to wash them before using for tea/coffee, bar badly stocked & staff inexperienced, room service food arrived cold - this is not delivery staff criticism but kitchen staff criticism.
All in all I will definitely return though as good far outweigh the bad at this hotel that gave me a very enjoyable weekend away experience.

Room Tip: Choose 1st or 2nd floor as newly renovated rooms & far from noise of bar on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieMegaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

I was pleased to read the positive comments that you have made about the hotel. Especially the praise you had for our staff and hotel facilities. It was also great to hear that that you enjoyed your breakfast and the choice of food on offer.

We have taken your points raised onboard with corrective action taking place. We do always try our best to ensure we meet our guest’s needs & expectations so we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future and thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    302
    131
    56
    14
See reviews for
147
266
31
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

On the whole, a good hotel. Great staff, good food, comfortable room. But when I signed up for the rate, I didn't realise I was going to get hit with a £20 charge for wi-fi. That was more than the cost of my evening meal for the courtesy of downloading my work emails. I would have stayed somewhere else if I had known.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read that you had a good stay with us. I would also like to thank you for your kind words about our staff, food and comfortable room.

Our high speed WiFi is charged at £16 for 24 hours, and shorter packages are available. We would also like to inform you that we now do offer free WiFi to our IHG Reward Gold & Platinum members and from July 1st 2014 free WiFi will be inclusive to all members of our free to join IHG Rewards Club. So we hope this will help you in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future, and thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was a typical holiday inn with a lovely view of the marina, the rooms were up to standard,and the staff very helpful,we only had one night, but at £65 for the room it was good value. Very handy for shopping too.

Room Tip: We had a marina view and it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodleywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked our location, views & found our staff to be helpful so thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.
Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.
Kind Regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I've stayed here to many times, it's arguably still the best location in town looking out over the Marina. However, it's tired, staff appear to be changing / churning regularly, which is never a good sign. As an IHG Gold Elite Member I booked in to a "Delux" room which was surrounded on BOTH sides by rooms being "refurbished"... 8am drilling and banging - thanks. I no longer feel looked-after like I used too.

Room Tip: Marina views are excellent but the premium simply does not represent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveJClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently undergoing a hotel bedroom refurbishment to improve our guests bedrooms for the future, but please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. We would like to discuss this personally with you being a valued IHG Rewards Member, so we would appreciate it if you would contact us directly on; kerry.wilson@ihg.com or call 0871 942 9043.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve our standards.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us at The Holiday Inn Hull Marina again in the future.

Thank you once again for your review
Kind Regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay and while a little pricey for the location the breakfast was great, rooms very comfortable and no complaints. The hotel was very clean and staff very pleasant, I would defiantly stay here again.
Arrived in the dark and left early so not sure on the surroundings but I'm sure the marina would be a nice stroll from what I saw, also close to bars and restraunts.
Don't let the nearby main road put you off, I couldn't hear a thing and my room was facing the road.
...........................................

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deanellis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and I am glad that you liked our hotel, your room and enjoyed your breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.
Kind Regards
Sarah Whitfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
224 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

To be believed - in a positive way!
Ask anyone who has not been to Hull what they would expect and it would not be this excellent hotel - not just its location but also the great service
Throughout the stay we were given excellent help by local people who were proud of their city and of the hotel
We were given an upgrade and the views over the marina in the morning were just lovely - while the weather down South is so grim we had clear blue skies and yachts to look at !
The meal on the Saturday night was lovely - Sarah was very friendly and helpful, and lo and behold she was equally friendly and smiley over the excellent breakfast
Unfortunately most of the staff were Hull FC supporters, whilst we were there to watch Hull KR - but even that just added to the fun and the banter
Just one blemish - the pool was overrun with kids' swimming classes - which was a bit of a annoyance at the time, but on reflection it's great that the pool is used by the local community
A breath of fresh air

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BruceHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments with reference to our staff, especially Sarah who you personally mentioned. We pride ourselves on the service we offer to our guests & always put our guests needs first so i am very happy to hear you liked our hotel, its location & lovely views, thank you again. We are also pleased you where not dissapointed with a loss as Hull KR had drawn 24/24 this weekend :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future so please do let us know if you need anything when returning.

Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Whilst somewhat uninspiring when approaching from the rear car park, this Holiday Inn is nice enough inside and the reception staff were friendly. Nice views of the marina from the bar and restaurant and the food was reasonable enough albeit at hotel prices and therefore a little expensive. Room was fairly standard, but everything worked as it should and it was clean and comfortable. Would be happy to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hull Marina, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.
Thank you for choosing The Holiday Inn Hull Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston-upon-Hull
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hull Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hull Marina

Property: Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Address: Castle Street | North Humberside, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hull Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel enjoys an excellent location close to East coast seaside resorts, and is an excellent base for visiting other major cities such as York, Leeds and also local attractions such as The Deep. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, our Executive Marina view rooms, which some boast balconies ideal for evening drinks. Facilities including 100 fully air conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people and a Spirit Heath and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel has 4 meeting rooms that will cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. Ample car parking is available at the hotel. Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel.The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including The Deep, Beverley Race Course, Hull's Museums and the KC Stadium. This hotel is pet friendly, the kids eat free and is fully non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hull Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hull Marina Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Hull Marina Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing