We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Handmade Burger Co.
Price range: $5 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At handmade burger Co. we are passionate about great, fresh food and only use the finest ingredients for our customers to enjoy.We are famous for our burgers which are handmade in our restaurant from traditionally reared, grass fed, 100% fully traceable prime Scotch beef to create the best tasting burgers.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great service and very surprised by menus, I had a very good quinoa burger, vegan and gluten free. If requested the restaurant offers a menu with all the ingredients for each item on the menu.
The staff are friendly and efficient, pleasant atmosphere and good table size. I would recommend this restaurant for a casual lunch time meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    98
    46
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I confess we went in not expecting much but I'd really recommend this place. The food was great-not amazing- but certainly good quality for the price. We had the American cheese and GF Jimmy's Farm cheese and bacon burger-both were really tasty. We enjoyed the sides and the only tiny complaint is that the mixed salad arrived undressed. What really makes this place though is the service-which is pitched perfectly. For a quick lunch in town, this place is great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nothinglikethesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
164 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Another 17 Varieties added to the Menu”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We have visited this location several times now and were pleasantly surprised on our last visit to find their already large selection extended by another 17 different ways to have your burger. Now up to 56 and including lamb, chicken and veggie. This time we chose the ‘New York Deli’, the ‘Smokey Barbecue’ and the ‘Blue Cheese and Bacon’. These choices were all delicious, but we really must remember that – even between three of us – two side orders of Chips at this establishment is too much for those not used to Yorkshire Helpings particularly if keeping the large Sour Dough buns that the burgers come in. (One can choose the no bun-extra coleslaw option). Indeed, because there is so much good value here that we usually go for mini-size burgers as they are usually sufficient for us as a meal. This is not cheap fast food so the sides are a little more expensive than usual but there is waiter service and a full bar range of drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Des H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Have just spent a very disappointing lunchtime in this restaurant. The order was completely mixed up and my colleague requested gluten free but it did not arrive. She had to wait an extra 15 mins. My beefburger was tough and burnt. The waitress was very apologetic but it could not make up for the bad experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Not like the one in Aberdeen”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I had been to the one in Aberdeen and enjoyed it, so I thought I would go here with my partner but we were both a bit disappointed in the end.

Even though there were quite a few waiters about none of them were keeping an eye on who was coming in and we had to get someone's attention to be seated.

We ordered a Pepper burger with chips which was fine and a Cajun chicken burger with chips which came out cool. I guess it must have been waiting and cooled down which is a shame. We told the waiter this and they prepared a new one from scratch which did eventually come out hot. Shame that we had to eat our meals at different times due to this. We received an apology but we're not offered anything on the house (coffee or drinks) as is customary in other establishments.

The burger was actually very nice and peppery and the brioche bun tasty. The only thing which make the chicken Cajun was a spiced mayo. Marinating the butterflied chicken breast in a Cajun sauce to make it more authentic would be a nice touch.

There are however loads of beef burgers, chicken burgers, lamb burgers and veggie burgers to choose from on the menu so something for everyone.

Prices seems slightly on the high side especially for a side of chips. Service was minimal. No wifi.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Polo_and_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Handmade Burger Co. also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Handmade Burger Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing