We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gardeners Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spacious, clean and wonderful jacuzzi tub! Continental breakfast was very filling, and the food at the Inn was excellent. Well located for exploring the area whether that be Hull, York or the seaside.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky_S1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    41
    27
    17
    12
See reviews for
60
72
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

FROM START TO FINISH A VERY WARM WELCOME AWAITS. Great value for money but most impressive is the quality of the staff who were all warm, welcoming and extremely helpful. The rooms were very pleasant and the food in the main pub was of a very high standard. Complimentary continental breakfast was a great added extra.
Thankyou to everyone for a great stay.

Room Tip: Duplex rooms give a great space with separate bedrooms and lounge areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireKeithH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I wanted to visit Hull, Beverley and the coast and Coniston is very handy for all three. The cheaper rooms are good value but mine reeked of disinfectant and there was no shower curtain. Although the flooring looks like 'wet room' most of the water soaked into the walls, which is probably why the towel rail fell off.
There is no hairdryer in the room and the TV could have been a bit bigger but there was a good sized table and a fridge. (Much appreciated, thank you)
I prefer not to go out to restaurants at night so it was a bonus that The Gardeners has its own restaurant. Unfortunately I disliked most of the food I ate. One meal of salmon with a crayfish sauce was delicious. Sadly, a repeat order the following night was unpleasant with the crayfish pieces tasting a little like the disinfectant smell in my room, with undercooked potatoes. Fish and chips was quite good but the fryer is badly in need of an oil change. Service was excellent and efficient and staff were generally friendly.
There is a well stocked Garden Centre with shops next door.
Overall I had a satisfactory stay and would recommend The Gardeners if you are not too fussy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent a week at the hotel on business trip and was pleasantly surprised as the rooms are comfortable and arranged around a courtyard
This makes parking easy as not too far to carry bags
Meals in the main pub are good value especially on a Tuesday as it's a steak for £7.99 night which meant the pub was quite full
One minor surprise is that breakfast is extra to the room rate which I was not told about until I arrived

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited this pub for lunch on a Saturday and it was very quiet. The menu is limited but there is something for everyone and reasonably priced. The place is very clean and tidy and appears to have been recently refurbished. The staff were very friendly and we decided to sit in the conservatory which was very a pleasant. We had a "lite bite" sandwich which came with homemade chips and salad. The portion sizes were excellent and all for £4.95. It also has a nice kid’s play area to keep the children entertained. This is the first time we have visited the pub but will definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRM058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The room was very nice: split level with jacuzzi. Bed a bit soft. Food was very cheap, and big, but not that tasty. Staff were friendly and wine was surprisingly good value.
Fate would not normally take us to East Yorkshire but we were here on family business.
If you are staying, it is worth seeing Spurn Point and Thixendale, both a bit of a drive in opposite directions.

Room Tip: If you use a booking agency, you will probably get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrtillesauvage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went on the steak night which was £7.99 per person for a 8oz sirloin or a 16oz rump served with homemade chips, salad, onion rings, mushrooms and tomato.
Food was superb, the location was lovely also. All the staff were very helpfull and pleasant. Would highly recommend.
Will be visiting again soon, cant wait!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicejude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
866 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
604 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
656 reviews
10.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
471 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardeners Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardeners Country Inn

Property: The Gardeners Country Inn
Address: Hull Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU11 5AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardeners Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming country pub, with modern dining facilities; offering semi rural setting, amidst East Yorkshire's beautiful rural farmlands. With direct access to Hull, Beverley and Hornsea (all within 15 - 30 minutes drive)and less than 45 minutes from Bridlington. We offer delicious home cooked food (we're pretty well known for our homemade pies and fabulous fish and chips), fine wines and a selection of cask ales, spirits, lagers, bottled beers and ciders alongside a fine selection of soft drinks, teas and coffees. Our external, lodge style, accommodation all offer a peaceful nights sleep on comfortable beds in rooms equipped with flat screen TV's, tea and coffee making facilities. With family suites offering split level living and spa suites offering split level living, 2 TV's, DVD player, refrigerator and second TV. Regional renowned for weddings, we have a private function suite that can hold up to 200 guests for all celebrations, conferences and special occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gardeners Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing