We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice restaurant”
Review of Larkin's Bar

Larkin's Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant on a Friday night, it was very busy but we had booked at table for 8pm. when we got there at around 7:45 our table was ready and we were seated straight away after ordering a round of drinks at the bar.

When sat at our table a waitress came over about 10 minutes after to take our order, I ordered the lasagne which was lovely and my partner ordered a burger which he was very impressed with. We also ordered some home cooked chips as a side dish which was very nice but we were both too full to finish them!! The have a large selections of beers and sprits and also have some wines.

The prices were very good! it cost about £35 for 2 meals and 2 rounds of drinks which I didn’t think was bad at all. The atmosphere was very laid back and you wasn’t rushed from your table once you had finished eating. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jade p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    83
    34
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place for a Sunday surprise...”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I'm a Yank who has a daughter and grandson from Hull. Last year, we had a gathering of about a dozen family and friends, and we completely enjoyed the food, service, atmosphere, and availability of quality drafts. Last Sunday I sat at the bar with a pint of cider and a crossword puzzle, and waited for my unsuspecting grandson to come in for a meal with his parents and paternal grandparents. Everyone at Larkins made us feel very special. We were in the same room, with the same waiter, as last year. We sampled selections from throughout the sunday menu, and none of us were disappointed. I had the braised steak, it was fork tender and delicious. My daughter shared a meat platter for two, that looked really nice. In America, Sunday afternoon is often the kiss of death in the restaurant business, many places don't even open that day. However, Larkins Pub was packed on this Sunday afternoon, filled with folks who were in good spirit and enjoying good spirits. The wait staff is exceptional, helpful, and fun. I cant wait until my next trip to Hull, because I know a trip to Larkins Pub will be an important part of the visit. Keep up the great work, folks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank archiedelver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Little bit addicted to this place!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been to Larkin at least once a week for the last 6 weeks or so... I've gone during the day, for tea and on a weekend - all times, amazing! The food here is absolutely lovely and resonablly priced, the staff are very attentive and friendly which really makes the place. The burgers, platters and the Wold Top meat pie are fabulous! I've already given them a great review a few weeks ago - but felt the need to do it again as I think its such a fab place! Moss who I think is the bar manager is great, his staff always seem happy too... its nice to see the same faces behind the bar when you go in and they remember you, its little things like this that go a long way!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sheer poetry”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I arrivd for Sunday lunch. What awaited me was huge pieces of real meat, freshly cooked veg and plenty of it, stuffing balls the size of your palm, and a tureen of hot, thick meat gravy. All for £6.25 per person

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull east yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been a few times and the food is always nice and you get your moneys worth & friendly staff will always recommend it to friends and family

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dottsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larkin's Bar also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Larkin's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing