We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be going back child free to make the most of what this great place has to offer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hull & East Riding Museum

Hull & East Riding Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enter a world where 235 million years of history is brought to life. From majestic mammoths to Saxon invaders, visitors to the Hull and East Riding museum of archaeology can look forward to an experience that is unique, educational and fun. Walk through an Iron Age village, enter a Roman bath house and look at the stunning mosaics. Discover a mysterious crew of wooden warriors and see our horde of Viking treasure
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
hull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will be going back child free to make the most of what this great place has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a brilliant museum. We took our small child who only wanted to look at the displays (and then only certain ones) however during our brief visit we could see that the displays and information are brilliant. The information is mainly local but there are also displays about how things fit into the wider world. We have decided that we will make an effort to visit some time on our own to fully appreciate this lovely museum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    76
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

With a bunch of museums to visit all in one place it makes for a great afternoon and better still its free

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dandy71Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A supreme place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

A mammoth on entry and scary Anglo Saxon village. Sound effects on board a ship and then a return to the Mammoth. We love it here and go as often as the grand childrens visit allows

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Baroness001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Local Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I loved finding about the history of Hull that I didn't know about. Especially how it was formed. It is FREE which is good and a little away from the Centre of Hull.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Extremely interesting and FREE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Like all of the fab museums and galleries in Hull they should not be missed. A taste of our local history. They are all free and very much worth visiting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FizzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hull & East Riding Museum also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Hull & East Riding Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing