We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting”

Hull Maritime Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: If you would like to discover more about Hull's maritime heritage, come and enjoy free admission to the city's Maritime Museum. The museum is housed in the Victorian Dock Offices in Queen Victoria Square. These nautical themed offices were designed by Christopher G Wray and originally opened in 1871. Now they display Hull's maritime activities from the late 18th century to present. Discover the whaler's craft of Scrimshaw and see a full sized whale skeleton, alongside superb ship models and stunning artefacts from Hull's whaling, fishing and merchant trade.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Yichang, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Visited recently for the first time and was quite impressed!Didn't expect it to be so interesting, particularly the whale bones' creations..It was very quiet when we went so we basically had the place to ourselves, which was great as we didn't have to rush ,were able to stop and read the picture descriptions,etc. If you have family/kids over I would recommend to take them to this museum and find out a bit about Hull and its history.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iness18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    151
    40
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Here is yet another free great place to go.You can find out all about Hull of the past and see what life was really like.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gadd2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'm not a museum type of person but my boyfriend wanted to go so I agreed and I'm so glad I did because it was so interesting. There are interactive features and interesting facts and artefacts about a way of life long gone such as the whaling industry. It was well laid out and very informative. Give it a go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Free and interesting...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you like models of boats or old bones... It killed an hour and got us out of the biting wind. Staff friendly and helpful. Hull history at it's best.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
574 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Excellent Gansy Exhibition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We dropped into the Maritime Museum to see the Gansey Exhibition currently running (Seamans sweaters!) We were on a tight schedule so couldn't linger and see the remaining exhibits but will definitely return as we did have a quick look and it looked very interesting. The Gansey Exhibition is very good, includes the history of the Gansey with old examples and the modern versions. Good for all ages and in the centre of Hull.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VanessaRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hull Maritime Museum also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Hull Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing