We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tandoor Mahal

Tandoor Mahal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best in area”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I have been going regularly to this restaurant for over twenty years and have always found it to be excellent. Over the years I think we have tried every Indian restaurant in the area as well as the usual Italian, Mexican etc. and of course lots of pubs. Take my word for it, this is the best in the area. The staff are always very friendly including the owners sons, the food is consistently spot on and the place is very clean and comfortable. When i think of the starter and main course (try the chicken achar which I can really recommend) plus a drink each for not a lot more than thirty pounds and I think of some of the overcooked swill served at an inflated price which is offered in some places then I cant understand why the place is often empty. Try it you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best place ever to eat”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

tandoor mahal is the best place to eat ! the chef cooking is great I would recommend all my friends and family to go eat there all time such a good value for money ! service at tandoor mahal is really good so friendly I have been going to this restaurant for many years now I have never been disappointed with the place such a good family business ran by the father and sons !
I will always be going back to eat there!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shuzna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Would recommend..!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

booked a table here recently as it was my sons birthday, Sunday to Thursday they do a special menu for £10 4 coarses, could not complain the food was not the best i have ever had but was very good.i paid £1.95 extra as i ordered tandoori chicken tika," as this was not on the £10 menu " it came on a sizzler and was very nice.

we were all happy with the service and food and surroundings, and will defiantly be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLeaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Value for money, tastes food and great service. Went with family for the week special. For 4 of us the bill came to about £50. Was really nice and tasty and decent portion size. Will deffo go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimTony101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best...”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We went in on a Friday night 2 weeks ago, we have used this restaurant a few times and I think the chef must have changed because from what we had before to now is day and night!

The food was really dry and seemed like it was in the hotate for so long that the top of the curry is all dried up!

We really used to like this place but I don't think il be back again, sorry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieNewlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor Mahal also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Tandoor Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing