We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel Hull

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Hull
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed on 7th June with my mum. A beautiful hotel. Our room very clean. We were at the rear next to train station but it did not spoil our stay. You could faintly hear the announcements but did not bother us. Staff were very friendly. Our meal was excellent . Food beautifully cooked and the same for breakfast. Excellent choice. Would stay again if visiting hull again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your generous review. I was pleased you had such a good stay

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    404
    227
    107
    65
See reviews for
147
454
61
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

stayed here may ist. The hotel is very nice, clean and good sized bedrooms, with a good breakfast selection, but if like me you are unfortunate to stay in the rear of the hotel near THE RAILWAY STATION then be prepared for a load of station announcements and very early morning engine noise! apart from that I would certainly use this hotel again,but not a rear room

Room Tip: front of hotel only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank englandcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay but of course dissapointed that you were disturbed by the noise of the trains in the morning. We have a completely new team on reception and indeed I am new - since your stay we have reviewed which rooms are were and will this information will be able to allocate rooms more thoughtfully to ensure future guests are not disturbed in this way.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is comfortable, but ruined by very loud disco music from the hotel functions room which went on until 1AM. They seem to rent out the hotel for parties at the expense of guests sleep. Beware!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for your review and further communications you have sent to myself.

I was sorry you were disturbed by the disco and as mentioned in my email to you we will look at the room you stayed in and if it is negatively by the noise of our weddings and events will only allocate it to guests attending these events.

I would like to reassure you that we would never take an event booking at the expense of our other guests and this would only have been done in error.

Best wishes and as mentioned in my email I do hope you will choose to stay with us again - just drop me an email.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

stayed at the hotel for a night prior to a coach holiday leaving from hull early the next morning. very good value for money, lovely and clean. room was good and staff were excellent. will definitely be staying again soon! very good for all amenities and lots to do close by. worth a visit!

Room Tip: even the standard rooms are top quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank f0xyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review

I do hope your holiday was as pleasing as your stay with ourselves.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here with 2 friends for one night last weekend. The room was clean and spacious and had everything you could want.
The biggest positive about this hotel are the staff. Without exception they were brilliant - accommodating helpful and pleasant. Special mention to Jade, the breakfast hostess she went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we wanted and cooked as we like it!
Would never stay anywhere else when we visit Hull in future - would recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker601116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Jade has recently been promoted from our kitchen team to the position of breakfast supervisor - I am very pleased she helped ensure your stay was extra special and I know she was delighted to recieve a special mention on tripadvisor.

Thank you

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed 1 night in this lovely old hotel. The room we had was excellent 1st floor very clean amazing shower and large tv, comfy bed and air con. Evening meal and breakfast was all you could ask for and more. We would stay here again when visiting Hull as this hotel is right next door to the train station right in the centre of Hull.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvnnjff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for such a smashing review.

I was delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston-upon-Hull
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Hull

Property: The Royal Hotel Hull
Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel Hull 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your The Royal Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing