We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mid-week break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Hull
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great mid-week break”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My parents, partner and myself visited the hotel on an all inclusive offer from 24th to 26th April. The break was excellent value for money, the service was exceptional and the staff were extremely welcoming and efficient. The food in the restaurant was amazing and the free bar from 7 til 11 was an added bonus. Would recommend for a short break and will be booking again very soon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed our all-inclusive offer. It does indeed represent real value for money. I have passed on you kind comments to the team. I look forward to welcome you again soon.
regards,
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    429
    237
    119
    76
See reviews for
159
486
66
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

this hotel was wonbderful for a great mid week break.we visited from the 24th to 26th april (my husband ,daughter and partner and myself) the hotel is spotlessly clean,the staff very helpful and friendly. the food was exceptionally good andvery well presented.it is very central and not far from beverley race course which we visited (didnt win much though )but great afternoon out.we went on an all inclusive offer tremendous value for money offer highly recommended .thanks again to the staff it was great

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aksullysheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. I have forwarded your kind comments to the team. I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards,
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a late all inclusive deal for my wife and I. The staff from start to finish couldn't do enough for you. Polite, warm, welcoming we were very impressed. Particlar mention for Andy the barman and Christine the waitress, who stood out with their friendly, genuine and professional way they went about their business. Rooms were clean and well equipped and the food in the restaurant was superb. I would definately recommend this hotel if you are ever staying in Hull

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirlwindOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of my hotel on Tripadvisor. Your review will be a boost to the team and I have passed on your kind comments to Andy and Christine.
I look forward to welcome you again soon.
regards,
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was giving a guest lecture at the University of Hull and my hosts put me up in this hotel. In terms of location, it's great. You don't even have to leave the railway station to enter the hotel.

However, it should be obvious that the downside to a hotel in a station is noise from the platforms, announcements, and general hubbub of people in the surrounding area. Unbelievably, then, the window in my room not only was not double-glazed, but was an old-fashioned, ill-fitting sash window. There was a heavy wind the night I stayed and the window banged and rattled noisily all night, despite my shoving a cardboard folder and then an empty squashed loo roll tube between the ill-fitting window and the frame to try to stop them banging together. Also, as the bed was right by the window, I could actually feel a draught on my face as I lay in bed and could see the curtains moving. This hotel needs double-glazing fitting throughout as a matter of urgency. Without it, it is simply not fit for purpose.

Additionally, the room was really shabby. The kettle and hair dryer looked to be from the seventies and were cheap and nasty. The pillows were old and lumpy; the single cushion fraying. A ratty old blanket was provided for the bed which I had to pull over the paper-thin duvet -- scant protection against the gale force wind rattling through the window.

Worst of all perhaps was the bathroom. (Photos attached). Ancient, stained, cruddy old taps so stiff that with the rheumatoid arthritis in my fingers, I couldn't open the cold tap without wrapping a towel around it first and hurting my hand in the process. The shower was one of those useless fixed-to-the-wall ones that mean if you want to shower your body but not get your hair or face wet, it's absolutely unusable. The facilities were reminiscent of the bath/shower rooms in student halls that I've occasionally been booked into by organisers of academic conferences and promptly checked out of again in order to find a reasonable hotel.

Come on, Mercure Hull Royal Hotel; Mercure is a good chain and your establishment is in an excellent location. You can do better than this.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I am disappointed to read that you stay wasn't entirely satisfactory. I have taken your feedback on board and we have already replaced duvets and pillows. My maintenance team is working on the tabs, as these are 20 years old and we will put a replacement program in place. The hussle and bussle of the city centre will always be around my hotel, however, I would urge you to contact me directly upon you next stay in order for me personally to look after your arrangements. If there is anything I can help you with, please contact me.
Regards,
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels

Mary Tavy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I needed a hotel that could cope with a very late arrival, for me and two colleagues, provide a good nights sleep and a reasonable breakfast and then an easy exit out of Hull towards our meeting destination. It ticked all the boxes, a little faded glory as I am guessing the old Hotel was the main railway stations Hotel, but I could recommend it and will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank marytavysmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving a positive review of my hotel. You are correct in saying that there is a lot of history to the hotel. Build in 1851, the hotel has accommodated Queen Victoria in 1854 and more recent has been prefered Hull location for Philip Larkin. I look forward to welcome you again soon and if you would like me to talk you through the full history of the hotel, please ask for me upon your next arrival.
Regards,
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

When you enter the hotel, there is a very large foyer area and a welcoming, light atmosphere. the reception staff are friendly and helpful. We always eat in the hotel restaurant on one of the evenings of our stay. The food is excellent, as is the service. The rooms we have had have been spacious, clean and comfortable. We visit Hull regularly and always stay at this hotel. We have booked another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stays with us. It is always nice to recieve positive feedback. I look forward to welcome you again soon and if there is anything that I can do for you, please contact me.
Regards,
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spennymoor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

hotel is in one of the best locations, great for a weekend stay. rooms are clean sheets changed everyday. we booked through buyagift.com saved us quite a bit of money. its only down side is the price of the drinks at the bar £3.60 for john smiths is a bit steep as its only £1.60 in most bars in hull. if i was going back to hull i would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazspennymoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your kind comments to the team. I hope that I am able to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards

Mercure Royal Hotel- Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
636 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Hull

Property: The Royal Hotel Hull
Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel Hull 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing