We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average for a grand looking hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Hull
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Average for a grand looking hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel was easy to find and the parking around the side of the hotel near the train station was reasonably easy to locate and access.

The main hotel was accessed at the front on the main road along with further parking spaces. The main reception was located in large lobby area complete with some original ornate features and a café/restaurant area. Although the staff members on reception were welcoming, their manner felt quite automated and impersonal.

We used the lift in the lobby area to access our room via corridors located on the first floor of the building. The hallways were pleasantly decorated and had the feel of an old town hall type building.

The room door entry system was pretty old fashioned but worked quite well if you pushed hard on it. The room had high ceilings and appeared on the surface fairly pleasant. However, on closer inspection, there were a few faults that could have been easily rectified and would have improved the room's appearance.

The bathroom, although clean was poorly maintained with several holes in the tiles where there was some signs of general wear and tear.

The bedroom could have done with a good inspection from the head housekeeper, as the cleaning was well below par! There were stains along the wall, dust along some of the fixtures and generally poor attention to detail.

During our stay we had to ring the doorbell at the main entrance late at night and the night time duty staff were quick to answer and very polite.

Apart from the poor quality of housekeeping in the room, the décor and the room itself wasn’t too bad. The layout of the room we stayed in was quite strange, with one side of the bed butting up against the window and radiator.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Trip advisor. I value your comments and we have put actions in place with the housekeeping team in regards to the maintenance and cleanliness issues in the bed rooms. I am however pleased to read that it wasn't all 'too bad'. We work hard to provide excellent quality and service and we know that we sometimes fail, however your feedback will be used constructively and I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Luc Perquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    412
    232
    109
    66
See reviews for
151
465
62
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

What lovely staff! And the food was excellent too!

I can't rate this hotel highly enough.

I've worked with a number of hotels running murder mystery evenings across the UK. In our 7 years of business, you can imagine I've worked with some good and some not so good places.

Our event at Mercure was event managed by the hotel team suberbly. I simply can't say enough "nice things" about what a delight they all were to work with. The meal was 5* too, and the venue was decorated beautifully.

The attention to detail was wonderful, and the team were so friendly and helpful throughout the evening. Well done to all at Mercure Hotel - I look forward to many future events with you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Smedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your function in our hotel. The team works very hard to meet and exceed guest expectations and I am pleased we excelled on this occassion. I have shared your comments with the team and I hope that you will book with us again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Luc Perquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeadon UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff could not have been more helpfull,the room was great but the big suprise was the meal in the hotel it was first class the place should have been full. I look forward to my next weekend away Ged

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gezz135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I have passed on your comments to the team and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Luc Perquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel's main benefit is that it is in the centre of Hull in the old railway hotel; which is also a drawback as the railway station and back alleys are a social melting pot and experiment in free enterprise. The architecture is impressive but the rooms are tired. I found the heat oppressive in the room and i had to turn off the radiator and turn on the air conditioning to compensate. We stayed in Hull on a Thursday night at the beginning of January and decided to eat out that night. Bad choice as we found only one bistro open as most close by 630 pm in winter. We should have eaten in the hotel as, judging by the breakfast the next morning, we imagine we would have found the meal satisfactory. It's a neither ""here nor there hotel, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Stay out of Hull :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_O_28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a enjoyable stay despite the 'heating' issues. I am however sorry to read that you found our hotel 'neither her nor there' My aim is to outshine my colleague hotels and I the fact that we haven't made a lasting impression I will address with the team. I hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future and I am positive that you will thoroughly enjoy your business stay.
With kind regards,
Luc Perquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Whilst the location of this hotel is good, and the service for the most part is friendly the Mercure Hull failed to impress me. The rooms are ok, but looking tired. The bathroom was looking its age, the showerhead was rusty and the only way to turn on the shower required first being blasted with cold water which meant a strange game of quickly ducking in and out in order to let the water heat up, or turning the shower head into the wall. There was no minifridge but the TV had a good selection of channels. The walls were thin, which meant my mother in the twin bed closest to the bathroom was left able to hear all the goings on in the bathroom of the room next to us- not a delightful experience. You have to go through a myriad of fire doors to get to your room- something which can be quite difficult with luggage. The worst part of our trip however came on our 2nd last night when, stopping at reception to ask a question, I was informed we should have checked out and that to stay an extra night I would have to pay. I was shocked as I had prepaid for 5 nights, not 4. The girl at the desk had to give me a new key to get in to our room so I could double check my paper work as our old key no longer worked. On presentation of the booking she could see I indeed had booked 5 nights. The computer had automatically deducted the wrong rates from my prepaid balance, leaving me with not enough credit to cover the last night. Seeing it was the computers fault and not mine we were allowed to stay on. However she said I would have to pay for breakfast which was another surprise. We had not eaten breakfast in the hotel once so the matter was dropped.As a large tour group had come in that night I'd hate to think what they would have done had they booked our room out to someone else. I reported this to Mercure and hope they sought out their computer booking system. Our room, due to the fact they thought we were leaving, had not been cleaned and we were told housekeeping had gone home so all they could do was get us anything new we needed such as towels. My mum collected these from reception and we had to make our own beds. This wasn't a huge deal but would it have been too much for someone on reception to offer to do this? On leaving the next day there was a different person on desk who asked if I had paid for last nights room, meaning I had to explain the situation over again. He also asked for payment for breakfast, another issue I had to correct. I had read reviews of this hotel before booking and had put naysayers off as snobs or being picky, however, unfortunately I have to agree that the Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is not a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkk_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that my team failed to deliver excellent customer service. I have addressed the issues with my Front Office manager. Please accept my apologies for the breakdown in communication on our side. In regards to your comments about our bathrooms, they are about 20 years old and we are in the process of replacing the shower head and taps into a newer, easier to operate version. Our rooms unfortunately, don't offer a mini bar or fridge. I take on board the comment in regards to the firedoors. I also would like to apologise for the fact that my Duty Manager did not assist you in servicing the room when this was clearly a mistake made by us. I have spoken to the Duty Manager who worked that night. I do hope that you return to us on a future visit to Hull as I am keen to show that the issues you experienced have been rectified. Please contact me directly and I will personally look after your arrangements.
With kind regards,
Luc Perquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I just want to start by saying in Hull there seems to be a drastic lack of decent hotel accommodation nothing in the four star bracket at all and that fourth star in my opinion makes all the difference.
Me and my partner arrived at the hotel late afternoon and sat and had a drink in the impressive looking foyer but if you look closely the upholstery is very tired but still acceptable,because there is an entrance from the back of Hull paragon train station
it dosent feel very safe as school children and all and sundry use it as a shortcut not very relaxing.
i went to check in and had booked an upgraded room,the young man on reception was not very welcoming at all there was just no customer service at all no kind of welcome in any way shape or form,nothing was explained where breakfast was or any other facilities within the hotel just appauling serious training needed.
we got into the lift to our room which was old scratched and tatty,we got to the room and went in and my immediate impression was one of cold unapealing slightly earie with an uncomfortable atmosphere.
the bed was was ok with clean linen and the bathroom was spotless to be fair but the toilteries had not been changed.
the room had a few good things like a coffee machine and two flat screeen tvs one in the seating area which had one of thoose wipe clean leather effect sofas.
we came back to the room after eating out just around the corner.
we got off to sleep but i was woken by a few banging noises outside the room in the early hours and also i heard this noise like someone being dragged across the floor outside the room it was very spooky i later looked this up and other guests have noted some strange bangs and goings on i know what i heard thats all i can say.
checkout was far better to be honest a very helpful girl with great enthusiasm,we didnt have breakfast as i really wanted to just leave and get on my train back to leeds.
To sum up i will never be returning its a shame as the old building is fantastic but its got too many problems for my liking im not a snob by any stretch of the immagination but will be sticking with my four star Hiltons.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Boothwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor. I am dissapointed to read that you have had a mixed experience in my hotel. The hotel aims to deliver excellent customer service and I apologise that some of my team members failed to do so on this occassion. I must disagree with your comment about Hull not offering decent hotel accommodation as that is not the case, I agree that there isn't any 4 star hotel operator, despite the fact that some hotels have tried but failed to deliver this and unfortuately both 4 star properties have gone into adminstration. We are in the process of making plans to upgrade the corridors and our room offering. I am unsure as to the noises you heard but I am pleased to read that check out was a good experience. I do hope I can persuade you to stay with us again and please contact me directly in order for me to look after your arrangements in person.
I look forward to hear from you.
Regards,
Luc Perquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Room was very small and had to sleep next to radiator! Not quite as clean as it could have been, and smokers outside front door would put a non smoker off! Having said that, the location is great, whether driving or using the train. Would stay here again, but probably would mention my concerns the next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patvarney76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. I apologies that you experience hasn't been entirely satisfactory. I agree that the smoking at the front door doesn't look very good and during December we did monitor this more closely and pointed our smoking guests more in the direction of the ashtrays rather then in front of the enterance. I will reiterate your comments to my team. I hope that you will be returning to the hotel in the near future. I look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Luc Perquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Hull

Property: The Royal Hotel Hull
Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel Hull 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing