We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny portions”

The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated on the banks of the Humber Estuary the view from The Sailmakers is unparalleled. The building is rustic and unique with many of the buildings original features still in place. The Sailmakers comprises of a light open plan restaurant that overlooks the river with a large bar and separate drinking area, complete with pool table, gaming machines and a large screen television for non‐diners. Next door to the restaurant area is our Wacky Corner, a soft play area with ball pool, slide and separate toddler section. Outside are two good sized seating areas both overlooking the river and great views of the Humber Bridge. The Sailmakers is located on a large retail park just off the A63.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this pub a few times, in the hope of it getting better, it got worse!
I orderd the chicken breast which came with bacon & cheese, a portion of chips& beans. As i dont like bacon i got it without, the chicken breast was smaller than my palm, and i seemed to have thousands of chips!

Not only this, but the place is very dark, tables were sticky & smelt dirty!
Having said this the view across the humber isnt too bad!

1  Thank Kirah87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lois d, General Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi
Sorry to see you did not enjoy your visit if you wish to discuss this further please contact me on 01482 610921
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 352 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
62
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a pie and a pint with the boys.. cannot complain cheap veer good food, will be back soon i would recommend thia to passing customers to pop in for a good bite

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lois d, General Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Really pleased you enjoyed your visit, look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The portion was disappointing and overpriced (eg a tiny portion of chips was £3. Would not recommend this place.

Thank 295hannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lois d, General Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi
I'm sorry to see you were unhappy if you wish to discuss this further please contact me on 01482 610921
Lois
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for some midweek nibbles to the pub by the river. I have been here several times over the year and it has always been a solid place to go for some tasty food. It has a wide selection of pub meals so should be able to find something to eat for even the most fickle eater. Also has a decent selection of vegetarian dishes that go beyond the old nut cutlet. Location is excellent sited directly overlooking Costa del Humber, so definitely a place to go in the warm weather. All in all, food is of decent standard, staff are always friendly, and the location is very pleasant. Recommended

2  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lois d, General Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

When walked in felt it was dark and not much space.
When finding a seat did feel close to other around.
Staff friendly and helpful,
Food was pricer then would have liked.
Took 30 mins due to it been busy.
May try again when children aren't in school (didn't know it was school holiday)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lois d, General Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you for your review.
We do run a two for £8.99 menu Monday to Friday and Sunday lunches are on this deal also.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing