We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brimble's - CLOSED

Brimble's
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Food and cocktails. Situated on Princes Avenue and housed in a lovely three storey building facing the tree lined Marlborough Avenue. Intimate dining, private parties, group bookings, business bookings. A varied menu with something for everyone including excellent vegetarian options. We take quality ingredients, cook them with passion and serve them with flair all in lovely surroundings. You will be made very welcome. Come and say hello. Always advisable to book but if you are on Princes Avenue, looking for a great place to eat, pop in and we will find you a table if we possibly can.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I've now been to Brimbles a few times over the past few months and had a fantastic experience every time. The food is incredible with generous portions, staff are very friendly and atmosphere is great. Really looking forward to my next visit and would recommend to all!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    39
    25
    32
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“GORGEOUS FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is the first time we had ever been as went to celebrate my Husband's 50th Birthday - the atmosphere and service were excellent. The restaurant is not very big but that just made it even better as was nice and cosy but not too close to other customers. The food was absolutely fantastic and a lot of choice, loved the choice of alcoholic cocktails but as I was the designated driver I had the non-alcoholic cocktails (lovely), staff were very polite and attentive, value for money and the food was presented like in a five start restaurant. We will definitely be going again and would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Brimbles, Manager at Brimble's, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
What a gorgeous review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Really happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We visited when it was quieter, but it soon became busy.
Service & food was very good & the cocktails had a nice kick to them.
Would definitely return for a nice meal & nice atmosphere.
The staff were all fantastic!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Brimbles, Manager at Brimble's, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
That's what it's all about...happy customers. Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We see that you have reviewed many establishments so it means a great deal that you have given us five stars. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

What a cracking little restaurant Brimbles in Hull is! looking for a place with a good choice of home cooked food with great value for money and we certainly found that. A very warming atmosphere and a great choice of food and cocktails. Food came out in a reasonable time and cant really fault the dish! Would definitely reccomend to anyone around the area!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnGreen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Brimbles, Manager at Brimble's, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
How very kind. We have recently invested heavily in staff training and the new menu is certainly going down well. We are enormously proud of what we do. Reviews like this make it all worthwhile. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I were in the area last week and thought we'd pop in for a drink as this was not a restaurant we had heard of before. We were greeted politely by a smiley waitress and decided to try one of the unique cocktails from the menu. Both were lovely and, had we left it there, would have given us a lovely evening out. However, upon seeing other customers digging in to delicious looking steaks we decided to stay for dinner. We ordered a rump and a fillet: both were cooked exactly to specification and tasted divine. The portion size was excellent! After staying for another drink, we left feeling very happy and wanting more. We will definitely be returning shortly to try more of the menu!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katiej146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Brimbles, Manager at Brimble's, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
And a wonderful review. We are delighted you chose to say and eat. Our TA reviews, our customer feedback and the number of bookings based on recommendations have all improved hugely in the last few weeks. We seem to be getting it right. Thank you for your kind comments. Come and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brimble's also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hessle, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing