We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! A great little Italian!”
Review of Operetta

Operetta
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wow! A great little Italian!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Hidden away down Bond Street but what a little gem. 6 of us had a pre Hull New Theatre meal and could not fault anything - welcome, Service, menus, food and ambience - all just great. We enjoyed the free bruschetta as we waited for our mains. Pizza, lasagne and stuffed pancake all went down a treat. Very nice and cannot recommend this lovely Italian enough. Well done Operetta!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank grssal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small Family owned and tasty”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

From when i first entered it was brilliant! the staff and manager couldn't do enough and went there on a birthday where they all sang happy birthday you don't get this from every place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Scoumon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I Finally Found Food Heaven”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been looking for a place like this for ever,the staff are fantastic especially the owner, he is an amazing Italian he cooks everything to perfection, comes out and chats to the customers, most of who are regulars. I had Bruscetta, which is a simple dish but his is the most amazingly tasty dish I have ever eaten, fish soup was outstanding and the pasta is so good I did not want the meal to end. Then the strangest thing happened, four people came in, obviously regulars as the owner came out of the kitchen and handshakes and hugs were exchanged, then food began to appear, curiosity got the better of me as they had not looked at a menu I asked the waiter if it was possible to pre order. He informed me that this group of people never order they just eat whatever he decides to make them, they leave it up to him, I wanna be a part of that, so when the owner eventually came out I asked him and he said sure, I cannot wait to go back, what an experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUll
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant authentic Italian food.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few time, the food is fantastic and generous portions. It was nice to find out the owner/chef is Italian this really comes across in the food. Best Italian food in Hull.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tinks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice suprise”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This restaurant used to be great when my parents took me a couple of times a month when I was young, my last couple of visits were disappointing (a couple of years ago). Last night on visiting my parents with my wife, my mum suggested going to the Operetta, what a pleasant suprise. Back to what I remember good atmosphere, nice warm welcome, excellent food and well priced (excepted the fillet steaks), I will deffinitely be going again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherringtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Operetta also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Operetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing