We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Marrakech Avenue

Marrakech Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

One thing I will say about this place is that you should definitely try and sit in the second part of the restaurant in the back if possible. It's such a different experience there and you really feel as though you have been transported to morocco! The service was impeccable and the food was very tasty. I also very much enjoyed the birthday song that was played with the lights turned down and lots of dancing! Great fun! Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laalaaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    94
    29
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“authentic night out”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went with a friend for a meal sat in the front of restaurant with very pleasant surroundings. Gentleman who greeted us was very welcoming and helpful throughout the evening. Explained the menu and gave us plenty of time to decide. Went for the set menu which had 5 small starters (gorgeous) and then 3 main meals, lamb and chicken tagine and morrocan meatballs, we ordered cous cous separately, again all very nice, meatballs alittle dry but very tasty. 2 very small portions of dessert - gazelles horns (pastries) which where too sweet for my friend and I and then mint tea and morrocan coffee. All for £22.95 each not incl cous cous. authentic surroundings and music and brilliant service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbeauy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We took our daughter here for her Birthday and we weren't disappointed, the food is traditional, piping hot and plentiful. If you are looking for something that does not come with fries, has atmosphere and can make you think you are in another country for a couple of hours then try this little piece of Morocco. The service was excellent and the staff were more than happy to fill any requests we had.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheWench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Turned up without having made a booking, the owner was very helpful and friendly and arranged a table for us within five minutes which was excellent considering it was a saturday night! The food was fantastic and the atmosphere great fun. we made friends with the couple on the next table and had a really lovely night. Thank you to all the staff. Will definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank yorkshiremissd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“AbFab for both food & atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Have visited Marrakech Avenue several times over the years and have always been presented with the most delicious & aromatic food, I think, on the whole street; it's location on Princes Avenue has such a great vibe going on, very bohemian and totally in keeping with the atmosphere once inside Marrakech. The decor is uniquely Morrocan with intimate lantern lighting, and a back room decorated with fabric adorning the ceiling to emulate a "Bedouin" tent... just beautiful; very intimate out front & able to cater for larger parties out back. The waiters have always been friendly & courteous, the wine list always great, and it's relatively inexpensive for the quality of food served; try any of the Tagine dishes (my favourites are the Lamb & the Prawn!) and you won't be disappointed; I can't recommend it highly enough and will be going back for more very soon! Fantastic!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Avenue also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Marrakech Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing