We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

just spent a great weekend at the whittington and cat. we had booked into the green room but where upgraded to the apartment, which was fantastic. hotel was lovely and warm and the food was great, thank you chef. i had the homemade beef, kidney and ale pie which was delicious, would have had pudding but i was too full. the bar staff where helpful and friendly and knew the local area well, the hotel was an absolute gem beside the pretty marina. why stay in a boring multi conglomertate business hotel when you can have the uniqueness and quintness of the whittington and cat! highly recommended will be staying again when next in hull.

Room Tip: apartment had windows over marina which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reeny300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

The staff were very welcoming and made you feel part of the local community. It was our first visit to Hull and staying at the Whittington and Cat gave us a great first impression of the wonderful city!
The evening food was delicious and one will never go to bed hungry while staying here!
The brekfast was an experience i had never encouted before but was absolutly fine!
My daughter has decided to attend the University of Hull, so i will not hesitate to stay here again when coming to visit her!
Overall a wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: Any will be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Located a short walk from two great shopping centers, St Stephens and Princes Quay, and a short walk to the marina and its restaurants and bars, the Old City and the Museum Quarter, there couldn't be a better location. My husband has been working in Hull under a consulting contract for almost seven months, beginning in April, and the Cat is a cozy home base for him. I also enjoy periodic visits; the owner and staff have made us feel like family with every effort being made to anticipate our needs and requests. The Cat houses a busy but quiet pub on the main floor, four rooms on the second floor, and two rooms and an apartment on the third level.There are a mix of single, twin, double, and queen accommodations. Each room is professionally decorated with a unique scheme, coffee and tea service in each room, and a self serve continental breakfast bar on each landing.

Our first stay was in the Marine View room on the second floor, a large, queen room with a sitting area with a flat screen television, and a large shower/bath room. For the long term, my husband moved up to the apartment, which is composed of a large main room with full kitchen, island dining bar, and roomy and comfortable seating area with a desk and a large, flat screen television. The bedroom features a queen bed, dressing table and another flat screen television. Having its window on the side of the building rather than facing the busy street below makes this bedroom quieter. The bathroom with shower is small but adequate. Beds are comfortable with crisp linens and warm duvets as needed.

The pub is open for lunch and dinner and serves traditional pub food, which is tasty, generous, and inexpensive. The chefs frequently have off-the-menu special offers and are happy to take requests from customers. If you like pub inns, you'll love this one!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side, away from the street, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Veryfriendly staff. Room was ok but basic.
Food was ok but would say greasy - but the staff very nice.
Breakfast is DIY with a fridge outside the rooms - choice was limited.
Probably wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed a weekend for 2 nights after a recommendaton by a friend who had stayed last year.
Sadly standards seem to have slipped since my friend's stay. We had a Marine View Room at £70.00 per night. The room itself was clean and fresh, the bed very comfy, however the bathroom toilet was badly in need of a dose of domestos, and the sink the same.No cooked breakfast, just a poorly displayed and sparse 'help yourself' continental breakfast from a dresser on the landing. Although there were tea making facilities in the bedroom the tap water was of such a poor standard that it was undrinkable, even when boiled for tea. The entrance and stairs to the bedrooms smelt disgustungly musty, and the pub toilets downstairs were also desparately in need of cleaning. On a good note the bar staff were very friendly, however this did not compensate for the lack of hygiene throughout.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janey35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Booked in very friendly lady ..Booked Emerald Room was told someone already in it .Was offered black and White room. THIS IS NOT SAME ROOM AS ADVERTISED ON THEiR BROCHURE IT MUST BE SISTER HOTEL. NOT 4 POSTER BED SMALL DOUBLE ) room small and cramped if you are 6ft tall etc
Chef helpfull food was great as were all staff
still value for money only £45.00 for two so not really complaining just shame about room,mixup /mistake /mislead!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid Black and white faces car park and small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonmurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights a few weeks ago and had the twin room at the top of the stairs. The room itself is nice and airey but I had to squeeze down the side of the bed to open the wardrobe. Also this room is next to the busy main road which kept me awake at night and woke me up early in the mornings. The staff however were very friendly and made me feel very welcome. I would recommend this place if your looking for budget accommodation. I didn't try the food so can't comment on that but the restaurant was quite busy when I checked in.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#10 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Admiral of the Humber Wetherspoon
Admiral of the Humber Wetherspoo...
#9 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Campanile Hull - City Center
Campanile Hull - City Center
#17 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whittington and Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whittington and Cat Hotel

Address: Commercial Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: $89 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whittington and Cat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star sliver hotel above a modern city pub. The Whittington & Cat provides a range of different hotel rooms, from single suits, luxury doubles and apartments. Only a 5 min walk from the train station and the centre of hull. We are located a 2 min walk from Hull Ice Arena. We are a family run business and have been described as a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Whittington and Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing