We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned good value”

Admiral Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston-upon-Hull
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Admiral Guest House
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old fashioned good value”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here with my daughter in January 2014. The guest house is deceptively spacious and the family room we stayed in was clean, tidy and of good size; it also had well stocked tea and coffee making facilities. Full English breakfast was well cooked and plentiful; cereals, toast and fruit juices were also available. The whole place is well turned out but also has a nice old fashioned feel about it, with lots of Victorian and Edwardian paintings and ornaments in the lounge and dining area. The host, Mr. Holt-Miller, made us very welcome and was happy to provide us with directions to the city centre, just a mile or so away, and recommendations on places to see and where to eat and drink. The price of the room for the night was considerably less than I've paid elsewhere for something of the same good standard. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have been a regular guest at The Admiral Guest House in Kingston Upon Hull for the past 10 years. In an age of corporate standard globilisation, it is marvelous to be welcomed at the door by The Proprietor, Christopher Holt-Miller. Spectacularly well groomed as always! On this occasion my parents were with me for a second stay. We sat in the guests lounge, in front of a roaring log stove, with a freshly-brewed pot of tea, served in proper china cups. The following day, a fully cooked English breakfast with linen napkins set us up for the day. The bedrooms are clean and spacious, as befitting a large Victorian town house. TV, tea and coffee making facilities. A light, airy bathroom with a window and a very picturesque window box, full of fresh heather. We all walked to the yachting marina and sat outside with a coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitebait1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire Cyclist
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The Admiral Guest House had no sign that I saw outside. It was clean & comfortable, if a little quirky, run by a genial host. On Hessle road was a collection of Indian/Chinese/English places to get takeaway food from. The Guest House was about 20 mins walk to the Railway Station. Tea/Coffee making facilities. Secure bike storage. I didn't take the en-suite, but for an over night stop it was good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubhank3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

So there they all were at 3 'clock in the morning chucking water everywhere!
I visit the UK once a year from new york and i always pay a visit to the admiral and one Mr Miller.
The admiral has a very pleasent host by the name of Mr C. Holt. Miller, dressed very neatly in this victorian guest house which welcomes you straight away. rooms are very comfortable with tea/coffee provided, everything is clean and good showers too. The breakfast is very nice especailly after a large night out the food is just right for your portion.
There were some noises coming from the bathroom. i knew what was going on i knew there were there so i turned the radio up full blast to drop a hint!
A fun place to stay very quiet no hassles what so ever highly recomended!

GOLDFINGER!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldfingernewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The host greeted us with a fresh pot of tea upon arrival, a late lunch and entertained us throughout the evening with his tales of a 'rubber party' that he attended last year (??).

It was the week of Ramadan and the host demonstrated an extensive awareness of this ocassion, despite being a Christian himself. He agreed for us to have breakfast at 7pm. During prayer, we were directed towards the Admiral's shared bathroom facilities and the host allowed us to use his bath mats and towels as prayer mats. He was very accomodating with our praying, but wasn't too happy that we flooded his bathroom by chucking water everywhere!

We later requested a pot of tea for 6 people and the host duly obliged. He did however give us a history lesson and explained there were no hidden maids or servants in hotels and that and he was the sole proprieter of this impressive establishment. I wasn't however very pleased to discover that my left over pizzas had been discarded whilst I was out.

The Guest House its self was tastefully decorated with a plethora of match boxed greeting you on arrival. As you walked through the hall way, you are greeted by pictures of HM The Queen, Union Jacks and GOLD PLATED candles.

The rooms have massive wadrobes, dark carpets, but ample lighting. The ensuite (where we stayed) offers a great view of the Boulevard, which has come a long way since it's 'red light' days. The KC Stadium is only a 10 minute walk up the road and Cheeky Monkey's is about 20 minutes away.

Breakfast is a traditional Full English, however dietary requirements are catered for. There is also a generous selection of cereals and rice milk available.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinReliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I stayed at "The Admiral" for several days during a visit to Kingston-upon-Hull in January 2009.

The hotel is in a Victorian town house on the West side of the City, in the impressive "Boulevard", a road that having fallen badly from the city`s heyday of its construction for the middle class of the 19th century, is now getting back into good shape with the city`s on-going regeneration since the 1980`s.

On entering thru the doorway you are transported into a lost world of 1950`s Imperial Great Britain with pictures of H.M. Queen and Union Jacks standing sentry in the hall, and in the reception room amidst the cosy dour floral pattern furnishings there are relics & echos of elements England`s Imperial African colonial experiences from the mid 20th Century.

The owner appears: exact, neat, well presented, watchful & helpful, and shows me up the staircase to a room, the decor of which could be faulted: too many paintings and not enough of them of any quality or relevance to the locality, too much furniture for the room`s size (the wardrobe is h - u - g - e, far too much so for the room`s capacity), carpets too dark; and let down a little by signs of too much economy in putting it together using low cost wallpapering, furniture & doors. However the T.V. & tea/coffee making facility is servicable, the beds are comfortable with the bed and wash linen of good quality, and the en-suite wash room is spotless (as is the entire house) and functional - apart from a shower unit that has an enlivening tendency of falling off its attaching wall bracket on to you whilst you`re in there.

Breakfast is okay being well cooked and food of a reasonable quailty, but there is the suspicion of economy at work on the portion sizes - single sausage,1 slice of bacon & a small glass of o.j.

The atmosphere of the place is dark, quiet and relaxing, and one can come and go quietly as and when, and the place feels good to come and crash in after a hard day running around the City.

There`s a good walk along the river Humber for the City`s frontage only 10 minutes away starting in some atmospheric abandoned 1930`s dock buildings but you have to orientate yourself carefully with a map (provided by the owner) thru a maze of a featureless modern warehouse district to find a way to it - the City still has a way to go till it "gets" the value of this resource for visitors.

The price of £35 per night (2009) is all there for what "The Admiral" is .... but to hell with it, let`s give the man a chance to make a living :)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILLIUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
812 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
718 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Loud Mouth Count Hotel
#4 of 10 in Kingston-upon-Hull
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inkerman Tavern
Inkerman Tavern
#7 of 10 in Kingston-upon-Hull
9 reviews
1.0 mi away
Earlsmere Guesthouse Hull
Earlsmere Guesthouse Hull
#5 of 29 in Kingston-upon-Hull
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Guest House

Property: Admiral Guest House
Address: 234 Boulevard, Kingston-upon-Hull HU3 3ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing