We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorn Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this guest house, our room was large, very clean and well equipped with a very comfy bed. We and our son were made very welcome by the owner and the breakfasts were really nice. We would recommend and will stay again when next in Hull.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    30
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
35
55
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Acorn last night, we really enjoyed our stay and we slept really well. The owner Janet is lovely and really helpful; she cooks a fantastic breakfast too! Our room was no6 it was a really large and clean and had everything we needed. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed in the Acorn Guest House with my fiancee whilst on a course in Hull. Made to feel very welcome. Room was very spacious and the breakfast fresh and tasty! Would highly recommend and certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtJonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Awakening from our clean, comfortable and spacious room to a welcoming smile and home cooked breakfast made there and then just for you was just a delight. If the guest house wasn't charming enough, the lovely owners made the stay such a pleasant one. Access to the city centre is so easy given its location. Definitely recommend if you're looking to stay in Hull.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gimbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This lovely guest house provides an excellent alternative to a typical large hotel. Our room was superb, the reception from the owners was very welcoming, the location is great for easy access to the town centre and the breakfasts are fantastic! Thoroughly recommend to any travellers looking for a place to stay in Hull.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBeck_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

First review I have ever left - despite many business trips each year. Very clean, lovely room, super hostess who went that extra mile to accommodate me. Thank you. A definate recommendation. Rosemary

Room Tip: Room 5 - triple room,spacious - had microwave, fridge and hot drink facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

A good value alternative to the typical chain hotel. This guest house is situated on the outskirts of Hull in a pleasant residential area. Ample parking at the front of the property, and there is a bus stop right outside with frequent services into the City. It is conveniently situated for anybody visiting the University. My room(3) was at the back and therefore pretty quiet, with a view over the garden - pity I only saw it on a wet November morning, I'm sure it is very attractive in the summer. The room itself was of a decent size with plenty of facilities. There is even a microwave for those wanting to bring in an evening take away although as I ate out that night I did not use it. Bathroom very clean, no bath but decent shower. Good selection of towels and toiletries provided. Although I prefer a double bed, I found the single perfectly comfortable and got a good night's sleep.. The breakfast room is pleasant and also overlooks the garden, There is a good choice of cereals, yogurts etc available to help yourself to and the owner will prepare a cooked breakfast to order, which should set you up for the day. A nice touch is the complementary fruit bowl in the hall. Obviously, unlike a hotel, you need to let yourself back in later in the evening, and those with less than perfect eyesight might find the combination security lock a bit fiddly in the dark, it may help to carry a torch. Like 99Rita, I did not have any issue with the dogs, most of the time you would hardly know they were there. The impression I gained was that the owners work hard to provide guests with a pleasant experience and I wish them well for the future. Would certainly return if I am again in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prahaluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston-upon-Hull
2.1 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Property: Acorn Guest House
Address: 719 Beverley Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU6 7JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acorn is a Quality Guest House with 7 en suite rooms. There are 3 twin rooms, a double room, family room and 2 further rooms with King size beds. Top floor double room with outside balcony, patio furniture overlooking the garden, number 7 Smoker's Heaven. Great location, 5 minutes drive to Hull City Centre All rooms with Free WiFi, FreeSat TV, Fridge, Microwave, Tea, Coffee and Ironing Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing