We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Turkish Heaven”

Mimosa Authentic Turkish Restaurant
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I love Mimosa and have been back numerous times. The food is always delicious and the service superb. Being a lover of Turkish food I try something different each time and am never disappointed. Our last visit was days before we flew to Turkey for a 2 week holiday and it really gave me the taste for more delicious treats!! Try the Chicken Beyti, they are amazing. The owners are so welcoming and helpful if you aren't sure what to order. Go, you won't regret it!

Thank polcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 51 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have made quite a few tripsto Mimosa and am never disappointed at the food, value for money and service. The sultans banquet is worth trying, a selection of starters like stuffed vine leaves, dips, fresh breads, followed by rice, salad, meat or there is a fish or veg alternative. This is then followed by a section of turkish deserts.The staff are always polite and make you feel very welcome. If you have never tried Mimosa you should and certain you will make more than just the one visit after going there..

Thank Jav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimosahull, Manager at Mimosa Authentic Turkish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Jav66
Thank you for your review regarding your experience in mimosa , and your kind words We look forward to welcoming you back in our restaurant soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

went after a visit to hull truck
what a delight good food good service recomended

Thank p0llyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimosahull, Manager at Mimosa Authentic Turkish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Dear p0llyw
Thank you for your review regarding your experience in mimosa , and your kind words We look forward to welcoming you back in our restaurant soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I went to this restaurant sat 9th June 12 as we were celebrating my wifes' birthday and myself getting a new job which we told them. They were not particularly bothered.

We had high expectations after reading several review. Plus we have lived in Turkey and thought it would make for an interesting night. We were warmly welcomed and it looked really clean and fresh. We ordered the Feast of the Sultan as we liked Turkish grills. The starter was very nice although the stuffed vine leaf and sigara boregi were cut in half and shared between us and the calamari was just 2 rings !!!!!

We had a nice bottle of wine and when the main meal turned up it was seriously lacking any sort of appeal. It was dry and luke warm at best. The table opposite us had a problem with her drink, she had a gin and tonic but made with lemonade instead to which the lady that worked the till and prepped the drinks just put more gin in it. She was the owners wife as far as we could tell as the single waitress didn't operate the till or deal with any money and is a normal way for them to operate a business. The main meal also lacked the beyti kebab as well, we mentioned this to the waitress but it didn't make any difference, she just shrugged her shoulders. My wife then asked the older lady for a glass of water and she opened and brought over a large bottle !!! when we said we just wanted a glass of tap water she threw the glassful on a plant mostly missing it and wetting the floor, she then got the lone waitress to clean it up. The lady gave us some very nasty looks during all this.

We also noticed that the sign about hygiene level 1 to 5 was only a 4 and tucked out of the way where most restaurants have this on their front window. To summarise, for 50 quid it was a disappointing meal with bad service. We certainly wont be returning or recommending this restaurant.

A basic cold and dry bar-b-que that was expensive. It lacked all the charisma that we were used to in Turkey and to be brutally honest, we've had better authentic kebabs (not the shaved lamb or chicken types) from high street fast food shops for a tenth of the price. I understand the principles of paying more when in a restaurant but ONLY if the food is up to standards and this definitely was not. Maybe they can cook a vegetable but certainly not a mixed grill x2 at the same time and make it juicy and hot. Spend your hard earned cash elsewhere. Oh, and they played Greek music not Turkish Tatlises (sweet sound). Anyone that's been to a proper Locante (Authentic Turkish Restaurant with open grill) will understand this.

Wouldn't go back under any circumstances sadly. I can get a fantastic mixed grill for under a tenner in my local pub that knocks this food for six.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joolsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimosahull, Manager at Mimosa Authentic Turkish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Joolsey H
Thank you for your review regarding your experience We regret that your visit did not meet your expectations and we will take the necessary steps to continue to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Can't believe we have not found this little place before now! Relaxed atmosphere, partially open kitchen area, very attentive and friendly staff (without being intrusive), good menu with great choice combinations for veggies (and vegans). My hubby ordered shish barbeque lamb and I chose the vegetarian kebab. Simple food maybe, but fresh - yes, and cooked to perfection and absolutely packed with flavour. Even the acompanying rice was gorgeous and the salad was dressed - simply but beautifully! Compliments to the chef!! It was absolutely delicious. If the place was empty we'd undoubtedly have licked the plates clean!! The lager is expensive but I suppose its as expected in this type of restaurant (there are plenty of bars nearby for boozin' in!). We have already recommended it to all our friends and will definitely be returning soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PollyPocket74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimosahull, Manager at Mimosa Authentic Turkish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Faultless
Thank you for your review regarding your experience in mimosa , and your kind words We look forward to welcoming you back in our restaurant soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimosa Authentic Turkish Restaurant also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing