We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good prices”
Review of Old Grey Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Grey Mare
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food and good prices”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I haven't been in Old Grey Mare for ages, but decided to pop in for tea with my daughter after work - to save sat in traffic for an hour.
I was surprised by how empty the place was, but it is a typical chain style bar inside.
There was a lot to chose from on the menu, both our meals arrived really quickly and with drinks came to less than £12! really beat sat in traffic, making the tea, then doing the pots! For the money, you can't go wrong.
I saw somebody else ordered a sizzler type platter which also looked nice.
The staff where very friendly and efficent too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Old Grey Mare, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Eve C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit along with your daughter. We hope you stop by again very soon.

Thanks
FG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    60
    38
    19
    9
See reviews for
52
44
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
eMalahleni, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from 1 week stay at old gray mare, very disappointed. We arrived after long flight during busy Friday night, check in was terrible as it was so noisy we could hardly hear what was being said. We were given our key and eventually found our room (3). The room was as expected for price, very basic. The bed needs replacing urgently, carpets need cleaning or replacing. We were there seven nights and the room was not cleaned properly once during our stay, carpets never vacuumed, bed only made once. Normally we would have checked out and found somewhere else to stay but the old gray mare is 5 minutes away from my mothers house where my children were staying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Old Grey Mare, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Jocamp,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your comments have been duly noted and passed to our management team to improve future experiences at the Old Grey Mare.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels

Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here mid-December and would highly recommend. The rooms are clean, warm and well-stocked with tea/coffee (no biscuits though). Clean bathroom with excellent shower and the room in which we stayed was far away from the pub/restaurant area so didn't get any noise whatsoever. We've stayed in a few places in and around Hull over the last few years whilst visiting family and wish we had discovered The Old Grey Mare earlier. Clean, good value, friendly staff, a place to eat if you wish and close to the city. Can't beat that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinglight_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Old Grey Mare, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear travellinglight_11,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel was able to cater for all your needs.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

we go to the old gray mare all the time. at least once a month. it is excellent. a good variety of food. from mixed grills, and steaks,to sunday roasts,pastas and salads, the choice is yours.
the staff are very polite and friendly, it is very clean and modern.the steaks and meats come served on hot sizzeling skillets. i would deffenetly recommend this pub to any one, looking for a good choice of food.the prices are very reasonable. we are going for a christmas fare before christmas , with 12 of our family, and i know they wont be dissappointed. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: we have never stayed in this pub overnight, only ate out at it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Old Grey Mare, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear suzanne s,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoy visiting the Old Grey Mare and hope your party has a great time at the Christmas Fayre menu.

Many Thanks
Flaming Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here last week visiting No1 Son at University. I made him go and check after reading some of the reviews and we were very pleasantly surprised. I had a family room which was actually 2 interconnecting rooms, they were small but well equipped and the beds were comfortable. We had a drink in the pub and enjoyed the Halloween decorations! We had an excellent breakfast - joined by No1 son who wasn't going to pass up a full breakfast. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. We had a key to let ourselves back in after our evening out. The evening meals looked lovely and but for our need to get Skyfall tickets - we would definitely have eaten there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Old Grey Mare, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Mandi V,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay ay the Old Grey Mare and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent four nights there....not a bad place for the family.Though restaurant becomes crowded at weekends it generally a good value for money. Me children love the place...the staff are nice and warm.There were electric kettle and a good supply of tea,sugars etc for a cup of tea or coffees the two rooms we stayed. Sometimes there are occasional gig at the back for those that love such things.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidT933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Old Grey Mare, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear David T,

Thank you for your review, we pleased your family enjoyed the stay and hope to see you again.

Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketley, Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Room very nice upon first inspection but as there were 4 people staying (2 adults 2 children) the child room was only made up for one. However, once reported the room was made up to requirements. Housekeeping staff should pay more attention underneath furniture as there were sweets and bits of rubbish under the bedside table when it was moved to make room for the spare bed (pull out). On the whole very comfortable room but breakfast was not as expected, took a long time even though there weren't many people in. I ordered a continental breakfast as I didn't want the full english (which did look good) and all I got was 3 slices of toast cut diagonally and advised that jams etc., were on the help yourself table!! I was expecting a small selection of cheeses, cooked meats and maybe a croissant :-/ so that was disappointing. We had a meal the day before which was very good value for money and well presented.

In conclusion will probably use again as it is ideally located for us when visiting our son who is at Hull University. Maybe I'll ask about the "continental breakfast" next time or they could change the name!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Old Grey Mare, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Susie M, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not the experience you were expecting. Your comments have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team. Many Thanks, Good Night Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
2.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
783 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gilson Hotel
Gilson Hotel
#14 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
591 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Grey Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Grey Mare

Property: Old Grey Mare
Address: 193 Cottingham Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 2EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Grey Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Old Grey Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing