We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Allandra Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingston-upon-Hull
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allandra Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

The Allandra Hotel is a very nice place to stay in Hull when you are looking for friendly, clean and reasonanbly priced accomodation close to the city centre in Hull.
Since our daughter moved to Hull from Germany we and other members of the family have always stayed in this lovely place when visiting- and we love it!
(And saying that, they're quite picky!). The owners are exceptionally friendly people who always go the last bit to ensure their guests are nothing less that 100% happy. The hotel is very clean, with TV and coffee making facilities, and the rooms are so cosy and the beds so comfy that you can't do anything but relax
Have I mentioned the extraordinary breakfast? My husband still describes it as one of the best things that ever happenend to his tastebuds, of a very good quality, cooked to perfection by the hands of people who really love food.
And all that for £30 (single) or £45 (double). We will certainly continue to book this wonderful place. Even if you don't have a car, there is a bus station just outside the hotel and you're in the city centre in no-time (about 15 mins)! With Pearson Park and nice shops and buzzing Princess Avenue with great cafes and bars just literally around the corner you have everything you could ever ask for within 10 minutes walking distance. We will return soon!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff, cleanliness, reasonable price, breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WaldFeeGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
InvernessLeah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

Pleasant, comfortable hotel, not the most modern but very clean. Run by a very friendly family and served an excellent cooked breakfast every morning we stayed there. Were very helpful and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Run by very friendly accommodating family
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank acemuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

The Allandra Hotel is a back-to-basics guest house in a fairly pleasant area of Hull near a small park called Pearson Park, near where the poet Philip Larkin once lived. It's a little run down and shabby by today's standards but the price is reasonable compared with other establishments. There aren't many guest houses in Hull and not all of them are in the nicer parts. The Allandra benefits from being on the fashionable Avenues district of Hull away from the rougher areas.

It is quite cheap at around £30 per night (single) for an en-suite including breakfast and serves its purpose for those wanting no frills budget accommodation in Hull. All rooms are en-suite and there is a guest lounge and breakfast room. There's a fridge to store drinks, etc. if you wish.

The owners were business like and fairly friendly and the breakfast was OK. It would serve it purpose for anybody wanting an overnight stay for business or seeing the attractions or somebody attending a function at the University. Apart from breakfast, tea and coffee making facilities, TV and clean towels are provided. There is a telephone in each room but no clock radio or hairdryer.

It is within around 15 mins of Hull city centre and on a regular bus route into town and to the University. There are lots of take aways, pubs and eateries nearby on Princes Avenue. No evening meal is provided.

If you simply need a room in Hull and don't want all the add-ons, then I would say the Allandra is OK for what it is.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Dated decoration
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxbridge2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

Although the staff at the allandra were fairly pleasent, we didnt get a very warm welcome. The room was very dated and not clean, the kettle was covered in dust. The smoke alarm had cling film round it and the tv was tied high on the wall with a child's belt.
All the floors creaked badly and when the taps were running it created alot of noise.
Luckily we didnt have to spend much time in our rooms. It really wasnt an enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — the lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kc31York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allandra Hotel

Property: Allandra Hotel
Address: Princes Avenue | Hull, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Number of rooms: 93

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing