We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zilli's Continental Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Zilli's Continental Cafe Bar
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: British, Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

really enjoyed the evening, it was fairly quiet when we arrived at about 7.45 but soon filled up and every table was taken by 8.15.one waitress was very attentive and definitely new her stuff the other unfortunately had a couldn't be bothered attitude, we ordered the mushrooms to start , very nice, this was quickly followed by one of the nicest steaks i have eaten for a long time, my partner had a chicken dish which was also excellent. the only downfall was the very poor choice of dessert which looked as if they had been there for a couple of days and was definitely leftovers from the afternoon teas. all in all a pleasant evening but come on guys lets have some proper desserts to choose from.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“long waits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

good choice of food, and nice to sit outdoors in the summer, but be prepared for long waits!

Helpful?
Thank Elaine196622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Went for lunch with a friend - and was pleasantly surprised that the restaurant had undergone a lovely refurbishment .
The food is always of a high standard and the staff are friendly and efficient.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone wanting a meet with friends or a romantic meal a deux.........

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The chef\microwave technician had gone home”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Food OK'ish though overpriced, the online menu is different to the one they give you once there, chips were £1.45 on the menu online but we were charged a whopping £2.95 for about 25 frozen chips, and talking of frozen, we went on cold night snowy night and the place was blooming freezing, asked if the heating was on only to be told "we had our pipes stolen from outside" we moved nearer to some mobile heaters which helped, but later on when we used the toilets the radiators in there were boiling, wished I'd sat in there for my food.

Waitress service is slap dash. They all seem like untrained part timers with no desire to do the job well, no one appears to be in charge or running the gaff it's like your a distraction. They certainly aren't friendly. We ordered a bottle of wine but they were out of stock, next one on the list also out of stock but they did give me £3 off the one I ended up with.

The steaks come with grilled tomatoes but you also get two cold tomatoes with the salad that they seem to pile on every plate. Given the extensive menu I suspect it's all frozen then microwaved. Once the plates were cleared from the table we assumed they would come and offer deserts, they didn't, we waited a while and then asked for the desert menu only to be verbally given a choice of three cake type deserts as the chef\microwave technician had gone home. We weren't offered coffee

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbdtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Went for my birthday had a loverly dinner, made to feel very welcome. Sandwiches are very filling. defiantly worth a try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elgrego-3841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zilli's Continental Cafe Bar also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing