We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend in the beautiful Kent countryside”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smarden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Smarden B&B and Inns
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in the beautiful Kent countryside”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here and was overwhelmed by the beautiful house and grounds, reminding me of a English fairytale. The surrounding countryside is wonderful but the garden with roses, apple and oak trees were simply stunning. The house itself blew me away, the fireplace, wooden beams and wonky walls, very English, very warm and a must place to visit!
Ken and Doreen are truly wonderful hosts, their cakes and breakfast were delicious, and they are so welcoming, making the place feel like a 'home away from home'. The rooms are very nice with super comfy beads.
I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned home after one night at Doreen's and Kens. On arriving yesterday we were welcomed with a cup of tea and a slice of Doreen's delicious carrot cake. The accommodation is of the highest standard and it was home from home. Kens breakfast was absolutely outstanding together with the fresh bread and juice. What a start to the day. Although we do not live that far from Snap Mill we are going to have to find an excuse to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDKCD, Owner at Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Do you need an excuse? There is so much to do in this area, beautiful gardens , lovely walks and delicious food at country pubs and restaurants. At the end of the day you can come back to us and completely relax in the peace and quiet of Snapmill. Doesn't that sound tempting? Good to have you here, very welcome, anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We recently spent one night at Snap Mill after a day at the nearby Wildlife Heritage Foundation and think it's a perfect place to unwind after a day on your feet! We received a warm welcome from Doreen and Ken, and their home is so lovely and comfortable. The bed was sublime and we slept like logs. We had the ground floor room which has everything you need, and the use of an attached conservatory with a comfy sofa and lots of books. The house is a traditional old country cottage which has been tastefully decorated, and there is a great mix of old and new. As for Ken's breakfast - well it has already been said many times! Absolutely delicious and it kept us going for hours! Doreen's cake was great too! We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B & B - thank you Doreen & Ken for making us so welcome. Tris & Tony

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDKCD, Owner at Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated. We enjoy having guests who have visited the Wildlife Park. It is a very special place. In fact , I hope you get chance to repeat your visit to them and to Snapmill too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our stay at snap mill was the ultimate in relaxation. To say it was home from home would be an insult to ken and doreen ,as the way they look after you is like nothing we get at home. I won't even start on the breakfast,as I had to ask ken to cut down on the amount he served.The only noise you hear is the sound of the birds and the odd pheasant. We will certainly be going there for a third visit sometime soon. Tony and pat.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms one upstairs and one down, both just as comfortable as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somersets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDKCD, Owner at Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
It was a pleasure to see you both again. We do hope you stay with is again and see some of the other interesting places around us in beautiful Kent. We promise to let you eat only as much of our breakfast that you can manage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I recently organised for my 18 year old daughter to stay at Snap Mill for four nights to do work experience nearby at the Wildlife Heritage Foundation. She found it a home from home and the owners to be very welcoming. Her room was lovely and she hasn't stopped talking about her breakfast experience yet! All in all a visit to be repeated. Highly recommended. Thank you Ken and Doreen for making the week good for her and reassuring for her parents.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmiccomanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDKCD, Owner at Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
She was a delight to have as a guest . It was a pleasure for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed there recently, 2 adults and 2 kids, and Ken & Doreen were very welcoming and friendly. And don't get me started about breakfast....!! Our room was very homely and clean. All in all, we had a great time and felt very relaxed and at home. P.M.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurfTheMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have been at Snapmill for the third time now and will come again for our next holidays. Ken and Doreen are great and lovely hosts, who help you whenever it is necessary. The rooms (we had both of them) are lovely. We prefer the one on the ground floor, because it has a nice conservatory which can be used as a second room. The breakfast is outstanding. You have to try the English Breakfast. ;o))) Who ever wants to come to Kent has to stay at Snapmill B&B!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smarden
5.3 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
4.0 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
5.0 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford North
Premier Inn Ashford North
#1 of 2 in Hothfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chequers Inn
The Chequers Inn
#1 of 2 in Smarden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Frasers
Frasers
#1 of 2 in Egerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast
Address: Romden Road, Smarden TN27 8RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Smarden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smarden
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast Smarden, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing