We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it was”
Review of Raj Pavilion

Raj Pavilion
Price range: $31 - $52
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the award-winning Raj Pavilion Restaurant. We understand one of life's real pleasures is a good, satisfying meal. So let us tempt you with an unrivalled range of authentic & imaginative traditional indian foods. Our food is cooked to the highest standards only using the best quality & freshest ingredients. Our approach to healthy cooking is that we try to minimize additives in our dishes. We never forget that without our customers, many of whom have become friends, none of this success would be possible. So enjoy your meal & have a memorable experience. Our menu has been prepared by our chef Shahidur Choudhury who always makes sure that everything is cooked to the best of our capabilities and with this in mind, all our dishes are prepared to order to ensure quality, freshness and taste. Relax - Great Indian cooking is closer than you think.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This used to be our favourite Tunbridge Wells curry house - great food, great service and great ambience. However, our last 2 visits plus one takeaway service have left us searching for a new go-to curry house. After a poor experience both eat-in and takeaway, we decided these may just have been blips and gave them another chance - sadly we left disappointed again. Firstly, the lighting - it used to be subdued, creating a nice relaxed atmosphere. On our last visit, the lighting was glaring and too bright - not conducive to a leisurely meal, but perhaps that was deliberate to turn the tables quicker. Service was slow and inattentive, drinks orders were forgotten and the place just seemed understaffed. This led to the problem with the food. Whilst it tasted fine, it had obviously been left in the kitchen too long and arrived with a skin on top of all of the curries. We were relieved to eventually escape - the management definitely need a wake-up call.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Langton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajpavilion, Manager at Raj Pavilion, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. In regard to the lighting we have recently redecorated & updated tablecloths (now black). Our customers have asked that the lighting be lifted a little to allow them to be able to read the menus, we have discussed with others who felt the lighting was appropriate, we will however re-visit this decision.

As I understand you came in on a Friday and we were very busy, we are sorry you did not receive a better waiting experience. We do endeavour to provide a quality service and meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    44
    22
    8
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Strange atmosphere, stale popadoms”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited the above Restaurant on a Wednesday evening, we found a strange atmosphere with a few language problems.
The Campari Soda was an apology for the price.We sent the Popadoms back , the second time they were just as cold and stale.
The Starter and Main Course were acceptable .The Restaurant claimed three awards in 2011, standards must have gone down since then

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“One of the best curries we've ever had”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

There are many Indian food restaurants and takeaways near to where we live, but finding a good one - i.e., somewhere that serves authentic Indian cuisine to a high standard and doesn't taste like it's been poured out of a jar - can be difficult. So we have shopped around lately.

We decided to try the Raj Pavillion because of the reputation it has built in being one of the top Indian restaurants in the country, and in winning awards.

We were not disappointed. The food was excellent, and definitely one of the best curries we have had. I have scanned previous reviews and find it surprising that anyone could find serious fault with the food served here, unless they do not know a good curry when they taste one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingfrogs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We go there regularly because the food is always fresh and good (not fatty, greasy curry like many places) and the service is always very friendly. We like to go there early to avoid the "late curry crowd", which is recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GIDAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First time eating at the Raj Pavilion and really could not fault it. Went on a Sunday evening for the banquet evening (starter, main, nan or rice for £10) - amazing deal. I had onion bhaji to start which was nicely presented, amazing taste and good portion size and for the main course I had chicken tikka masala which was again absolutely delicious. I have tried many chicken tikka masala dishes around tunbridge wells and I have to say the Raj Pavilion is my favourite.
The service was very good and friendly.
Will most definitely be returning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj Pavilion also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to Raj Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing