We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Friendly Service.”
Review of The Nutmeg Tree

The Nutmeg Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm Friendly Service.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

An oasis in the middle of Tunbridge Wells. Warm friendly service and excellent food cooked to order. We were served by Cate who is the heart & soul of the welcoming atmosphere. We had tea and a late breakfast all of which were excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    26
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Althorne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“'Nippies' at The Nutmeg Tree”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had our second visit to The Nutmeg Tree today and we were served by the lovely Cate. The waiting staff, dressed in the manner of the 'Nippies' of Lyons Corner House, add to the ambience of this lovely restaurant. We had tea, a frothy coffee and two breakfasts. Both the drinks and the meals were excellent. The tea came with a strainer, which is always a treat. Cate was friendly, chatty and efficient and everyone who came in seemed to know her, which means people obviously return time and again, always a good sign. We do not visit Tunbridge very often, but if we need to go back we will definitely eat at the Nutmeg Tree again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A lovely cafe to calm and sooth after the madness of shopping in Victoria Place. The service is great with a touch of 'old English' charm from the traditionally dressed waitresses. This was one of mum's favourite places in Tunbridge Wells and scrambled eggs on toast with a frothy coffee was what she regularly went for, with a slice of one of their delicious cakes if she had room!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a lovely spot. We were blown away by the welcome and the friendly, cheery service. They should write a manual on how to motivate staff and sell it to their soulless fast food neighbors.
The food is traditional English food that sticks to your ribs and the menu is huge. They do dishes not served elsewhere any more, meat puddings and the like. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Currambiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“a posh cafe.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

lovely little place in royal Victoria place, good for breakfast but alittle pricey, lovely setting and good service ( waitresses dress in french maid style) very cute place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ALCBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nutmeg Tree also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Nutmeg Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing