We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very poor meal” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirthon

Kirthon
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very poor meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us and was very busy so someone must like it. We ordered a sheek kebab and crunchy lamb chops as starters. Both were dry and flavourless. My main course of Goan Fish Curry was bland and unappetising. The lemon rice had been cooked some time previously and the sag was dry and inedible. In fairness my wife had a chicken dish which she liked. Also when we complained the cost of the items were deducted from the bill. Perhaps we were unlikely but we both thought it was the worst Indian meal we had eaten .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    27
    22
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good food, rowdy Saturday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The important part first: the food was very good. The chutneys were very good, onion salad ok and the mains very good. What didn't I like? Well, the decor had all the charm of a service station. A large screen TV playing Indian music videos was distracting (I wouldn't have wanted to be the couple sat underneath it), my menu had poppadums stuck to the first page and the tables were mock granite formica. They had obviously blown the budget on the water feature in the entrance downstairs and the TV. Enough about the decor BUT it did distract from the food. Would I go again, sure, if invited...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 731JJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

After reading a few reviews on here was a wee bit apprehensive about our visit. Prebooked and the table was ready bang on time. Staff were attentive. Good menu and I tried something that I have never tasted before the Banjarra Tikka. Portions were a good size and the bill with starters, main and drinks was £80 for 4, so really good value.

Tables are a wee bit close together for my liking, try and reserve a table in one of the corners

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MeFeinMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Used to be good - 5 years ago”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Tiny portions, about half what they used to be!

Pre-cooked pilau rice straight from a container, Onion bahaji's hard on over cooked. About 4 prawns in an £11 dish.

DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS PLACE, just because it was busy doesn't make it good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rukkle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for parties”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a great place for party meals and stag/ hen nights.
Great food and good staff, but if you want a quiet romantic meal this is not the place to go.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1968Fizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirthon also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Kirthon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing