We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety.”
Review of Junahki

Junahki
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good variety.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This one is always worth coming back to, with a wide ranging menu and interesting décor (although I always find the photograph of Margaret Beckett smiling at a table amusing – not QUITE the apogee of Celebrity-in-Restaurant photographs.)

Having said that, though, I almost invariably plump for the same thing anyway – the Paneer Mirchi Massala with Sag Bhaji and Lemon Rice.

With such an excellent kitchen staff, however, there are a couple of odd let downs sometimes – borderline rude service, it might be, or the baffling propensity to keep on serving soft poppadums so that one has to go through the dreary routine of asking them to be replaced – as if they spend all that time concocting exotic dishes and can’t just pull a fresh poppadum out of the packet.

For all that, it generally does the right thing in that one steps out of a somewhat dull stretch of Tunbridge Wells into a little bit of Raj-inflected magic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GRB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    42
    19
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Large Party.All Had Good Food.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Went Saturday night.The place was packed.Had to wait a little while for our booked table but there was several off us.The menu is very reasonably priced compared to other indian restaurants.However,I found the dishes to be slightly smaller than elsewhere.All our food came out at the same time and was nicely presented.Cooked with love and attention.Everyone was pleased with their food.Would go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovegrub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in town”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the best Indian restaurant in TW. I can't understand why it is ranked so low on here as we have been numerous times and always considered the food here to be fantastic. It has all the standard dishes, but also some unusual ones too which are great.

The Spice Club is also very good, with a more fun atmosphere, but Junahki pips it for the flavours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonification
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Junakhi easily rates as my favourite Indian Restaurant in Tunbridge Wells.

There is a giant carpark out the back and cashpoint right opposite, the decor is very authentic with glass-topped tables with indian spices and banknotes inside, and kama sutra pictures in the toilets. While not the size to cope with huge parties it's perfect for cosy meals with friends or your other half. The service is pretty so-so, the same as most restaurants in the town.

As far as the food goes, to me it's the only restaurant in Tunbridge Wells where the "Specials" are actually special! I could go to any one of the other Tunbridge Wells curry houses - Kirthon, Masala, Bengal Brasserie, Raj, Masala, whatever and the food tastes the same - they have nothing that really defines them... but at Junakhi it's really quite different.

The highlights for me are their Chott Poti starter with chicken and chickpeas in a wonderfully sour spicy sauce, and their Hare Mirch Massala with whole dried chillis which is nice and spicy.

The only drawback I can see about the place is it's a 10 minute walk from town and unless you want to go in the pub over the road afterwards you haven't got much choice of after-curry pubs like you have with the town centre Indian restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place for an evening with friends”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a lovely evening at the Junahki with 5 friends. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We had a nice table downstairs and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank melanie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junahki also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Junahki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing