We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Dynasty - CLOSED

Imperial Dynasty
Price range: $1 - $51
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I went for dinner here after work on Friday. We have had take away from here a number of times but thought we would try out the restaurant.

We went for the set menu B, it was really good. The food is very fresh, tasty, good value and
the service is also great. The restaurant was very quiet but they were very busy with take aways so the courses were nicely spaced as I presume the kitchen was busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeccaG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biddenden, Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best for some distance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you like Cantonese and Szechuanese cooking, then England is something of a wasteland outside Central London's Gerrard Street and environs and one or two spots on the fringes. Not much is going to match those standards, and even there you have to know where to go.

In the local and even the county context, however, the Imperial Dynasty is a welcoming haven in the centre of Tunbridge Wells Old Town, with an outside terrace for those rare sunny days, serving decent Cantonese-biased (the roast duck is not wind-dried, obviously, and there is no crispy pork) food in reasonable but not huge portions, in pleasant surroundings. There are nods to other Chinese cuisines. There are some good wines on the wine-list at prices, like those of the food, that will not have you reaching for the smelling-salts, and the service is friendly and professional.

I base my report on 4 or 5 visits in the past year with my wife a deux, and with the rest of the family - 3 late teens. When we are in the mood not to cook, it's an easy and rewarding destination, much better than the local competition. Going again tonight.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrMaturin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First choice for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Regularly get take-out from here, and sometimes eat in. Happy to keep going back. Not going to be award winning but good quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mozzibite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Average Chinese restaurant in old part of town.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We visited this restaurant on a recommendation. Had a set meal for three people at £18 per person. Reasonable price for set meal, but the portions could only be described as adequate, rather than generous. Usually when you have a set meal in a Chinese restaurant, you often find it difficult to eat all the food on offer. Whilst we were all adequately fed, we could not honestly say that we were full. My recommendation would be that you purchase an additional main course to go with the set meal, if you feel hungary. House red wine at £15-95 per bottle was lovely.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V2-60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good first impressions, but needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Havent been here in some years but went in for an early meal on a Saturday night. It has a nice atmosphere and the staff were prompt and professional - the menu has all the usuals on plus a bias to sea food with market price lobsters and other fresh fish. We didn't have these, but started with a quarter crispy duck, 5 main dishes and noodles and rice - rather heavy on the MSG which was very noticeable the next day.. The price with 3 beers and 10% service was £73. As I said it needs work, the back of house up to the toilets was a mess and the toilets themselves really need refurbishing (and a clean). One final point which annoyed me a young couple came in and were asked to leave as their menu choice did not add up to a minimum spend of £15 per head - might be house rules but those kids wont come back and maybe their friend wont either.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikerian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Dynasty also viewed

Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Bells Yew Green, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Capel, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing