We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, lovely venue!”

Barn Pub and Grill Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A character pub restaurant centrally located with free parking adjacent in the evening and weekends. Privately owned and operated since 1992.In addition to the excellent food and drink at great value prices, we are proud of our very friendly staff, which combined with the ‘barn’ character setting and decor makes us a special place for a meal in our lovely air conditioned Grill restaurant, or a drink and snack in our air conditioned bar and conservatory.Enjoy a drink or snack in our delightful garden, sunny during the day, heated for those cooler days and beautifully illuminated by night.Our philosophy is "to serve freshly prepared food, using high quality raw materials at unbeatable prices."The restaurant menu has evolved over recent years, taking account of fashion changes and is based on grills and Mediterranean specialities. We have a great reputation for steaks, using only prime 28 day matured British beef.We cater for weddings and have a civil ceremony licence, and private parties.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff, lovely venue!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I live in the US and recently got married there, however as I'm a Brit we also wanted a reception in England for those who couldn't travel to the wedding. We booked The Barn sight unseen and relied on reviews, photos and communications with Philippe & Janet. They did not disappoint us! The menu was adjusted for us, parking spots and tables outside were reserved as well, as it was such a beautiful evening - these were things we didn't expect and I'm sure would not occur at some other venues. This kind of special attention to detail ensured our evening was perfect. Philippe, Janet, & Laura the assistant manager did a fabulous job. Our guests all commented at how accommodating they were. The Barn is wonderful - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    102
    33
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
““Lovely staff””
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A friend & I went to the "Barn" for dinner and were pleasently suprised. This was the "go to" place when we were teenagers - a VERY long time ago - and we were interested to see what the new owners/management had done to the place. There is a conservatory and small outside patio area which would be nice in warm weather & the restaurant is upstairs.

It was early evening with only a few people in the bar and one other couple in the restaurant. The barman & our waiter were both really friendly and made us feel instantly at home. We both had Stilton & garlic mushrooms to start, the portion was teeny for the price of £5.75 - 2 small rounds of french bread - but made up for the size with fantastic flavour. Very, very good.

I then had chicken fajitas, a good size this time, and it was excellent. My friend had slow roast duck which was a bit dry but accompanied by lovely Dauphinoise potatoes.

We didn't have dessert but there was a great selection and the price of £4.45 sounded good value. We will go back and will either use our Tastecards again (2for1 on all courses) or try the fixed price menu's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good venue, Good food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm a regular at The Barn, especially on a Summer's evening, where you can sit outside and enjoy the ambience of the superbly appointed garden. The restaurant upstairs lays on food to a good standard although not spectacular. On the whole, this is one of the finer evening venues in Tunbridge Wells. It can get busy on a Friday or Satruday night, but due to the extensive outside area, this never seems to be too much of a problem, The staff are all attentive, friendly and prompt with their service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A friend & I went to the "Barn" for dinner and were pleasently suprised. This was the "go to" place when we were teenagers - a VERY long time ago - and we were interested to see what the new owners/management had done to the place. There is a conservatory and small outside patio area which would be nice in warm weather & the restaurant is upstairs.

It was early evening with only a few people in the bar and one other couple in the restaurant. The barman & our waiter were both really friendly and made us feel instantly at home. We both had Stilton & garlic mushrooms to start, the portion was teeny for the price of £5.75 - 2 small rounds of french bread - but made up for the size with fantastic flavour. Very, very good.

I then had chicken fajitas, a good size this time, and it was excellent. My friend had slow roast duck which was a bit dry but accompanied by lovely Dauphinoise potatoes.

We didn't have dessert but there was a great selection and the price of £4.45 sounded good value. We will go back and will either use our Tastecards again (2for1 on all courses) or try the fixed price menu's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brill, fab wonderful place, food Amazing”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolutely wonderful place. We had our wedding ceremony and reception June 2012, from start to finish Phillipe and his staff did everything possible to make our day as special as possible, Phillipe's wife Janet was so helpful and friendly and was always available and did so much to help me with our plans. Our wedding food was absolutely amazing. We attended The Barn for our 1st year Wedding Anniversary meal and again they didn't disappoint our food was wonderful so tasty. Our top top favourite place. Thanks The Barn Nik and Dave :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki9494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barn Pub and Grill Restaurant also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Barn Pub and Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing