We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barn Pub and Grill Restaurant

Barn Pub and Grill Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A character pub restaurant centrally located with free parking adjacent in the evening and weekends. Privately owned and operated since 1992.In addition to the excellent food and drink at great value prices, we are proud of our very friendly staff, which combined with the ‘barn’ character setting and decor makes us a special place for a meal in our lovely air conditioned Grill restaurant, or a drink and snack in our air conditioned bar and conservatory.Enjoy a drink or snack in our delightful garden, sunny during the day, heated for those cooler days and beautifully illuminated by night.Our philosophy is "to serve freshly prepared food, using high quality raw materials at unbeatable prices."The restaurant menu has evolved over recent years, taking account of fashion changes and is based on grills and Mediterranean specialities. We have a great reputation for steaks, using only prime 28 day matured British beef.We cater for weddings and have a civil ceremony licence, and private parties.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a good restaurant, great for family groups. Food very good and sensibly priced. Only adverse comment is that you have to walk up a flight of steps to get to the restaurant so would not be able to take my parents as they would not manage the stairs. Would go back some some time for a good value meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatronHandR, Owner at Barn Pub and Grill Restaurant, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We thank you for this lovely review following the visit to our restaurant at The Barn

Please do feel free to take your parents as we can serve the restaurant menu in our attractive garden conservatory or if the weather is fine in the pretty patio garden itself.

We look forward to seeing you sometime soon with your parents.


Ron Zanre
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    94
    33
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I frequent this pub often and find the service and the hospitality very welcoming, I hear the food is very nice definitely worth a visit. The Pub itself is a little off the beaten track but only slightly looks very impressive from the outside with its little garden in the centre of town VERY NICE

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyjam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our day was perfect!!! Thank you so much x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Janet & Philippe,

We honestly cannot thank you enough for all the effort that you and your staff put into making our wedding day absolutely perfect!!!

We had an amazing day, as did all our guests, and the Barn looked stunning. The food was delicious and the buffet certainly went down well. The attention to detail was fantastic and we really felt that you did everything you could to ensure we had a wonderful experience.

You have been so professional and accommodating to all our requests and as such the day was exactly what we dreamed of!

The Barn is such a special place and we are both so glad that we found you :-)

Thanks again,

The new Mr & Mrs Lock!!! :-) xxx

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank noodlesgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Wedding - 5/5/13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

An absolutely fantastic day from start to finish! Janet and Philippe went above and beyond all our expectations and needs. Nothing was too dfficult and they were always on hand to help with questions, ideas and even picky eaters! All our guests were bowled over by how much choice they got and the quality of the food. Every one of the staff was professional, helpful and a credit to the place. We have had nothing but compliments from our guests with many saying how much they couldn't wait to go back. Thank you Janet and Philippe for all your patience, help and guidance in the lead up to our day - it wouldn't have been the same without you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our fantastic wedding on 7 April 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a perfect day. Philippe, Janet and all the staff at The Barn made our wedding day totally stress free so we thoroughly enjoyed our special day. All our guests complimented us on our choice of venue, the food and the friendly efficient staff. We highly recommend this venue for weddings. Chris and Andy

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cethomp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barn Pub and Grill Restaurant also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Barn Pub and Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing