We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try Moules & Frites!”

Sankey's The Public House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $52
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sankeys The Public House is a food led Pub in the heart of Royal Tunbridge Wells specialising in seafood
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must try Moules & Frites!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the first time with a large group of friends. Food delicious - Moules & frites ordered by 8/10 ! Wines & beers all good. Our server was very informative & friendly. Atmosphere lively/ chatty. Outdoor / balcony seating available - perfect Summer evening!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisylilyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    107
    48
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great pub with real ales and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited Royal Tunbridge Wells for a weekend and took some time in looking for an atmospheric pub with a range of real Ales.

We found Sankey's which, does not look much from the front, but has real atmosphere inside. It also has a range of amazing real ales and continental beers and an outside area that is great in the summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian_wylie380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I hadn't been to Sankey's for around 10 years but it was good to see that it remained a pub with great atmosphere with comfortable chairs and settees and, great local beers.
I had the Rock Oysters with bacon bits and good they were too. main course was the pan fried haddock with In a very pleasant and tasty sauce, this dish came with four perfectly cooked vegetables parsnips, broccoli, carrots, and cabbage with roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding,
I would have given Sankey's a five except for the rather rude and abrupt attitude of the foreign staff member the English lady and Angus were absolutely spot on. But the blondish haired foreign lady when I asked if she would come and take our order said, it was against pub rules, then said you will be like anyone else and come to the bar to order, given that we were in the closest table to the bar and there was no one else ion the bar at that time, we had a tab so it want about paying as we ordered. shame some one has to be so rude in the hospitality industry especially where there is plenty of choices with a stones throw. We had driven about 60 miles especially to done here but, not to be treated in the manner. like she was doing us a favour thats why only three stars

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank flyfinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Expensive chippie.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here with a business colleague for lunch, first time for several years and much remains the same.
Upstairs has a good selection of beer and wine, yet strangely no Guiness, bah humbug.
Downstairs very fishy as one would expect, loads of oysters, crabs and lobsters hog tied in tanks waiting for the good news.
Haddock and chips was average, not that big, and certainly not as crispy as it should have been. Service was a tad patchy and oddly for a Friday not that busy. There is a lot of completion in TW these days, far more so than when Guy Sankey started this place.
Best I can say is average.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good value”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice atmosphere in this pub. Only stopped for a lunch and a pint but it was worth it and I would certainly go back. The staff are very good and the beer is terrific!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sankey's The Public House also viewed

 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Sankey's The Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing