We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart and Simple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smart and Simple Hotel
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had arranged our wedding at The Barn around the corner from this hotel so decided it would be great to be able to walk here after the evening had ended. When we emailed the hotel to let them know they were very helpful and contniued to be everytime we had a question. They let us check in fairly late and gave us a FANTASTIC ROOM (22) which was very spacious and lush!
We could not recommend this hotel more for those visiting T.Wells especially those getting married or helping celebrate weddings at The Barn or surrounding venues! Thank you!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel, room 22!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    69
    58
    28
    17
See reviews for
37
85
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed overnight and asked for a room at the back as other reviewers remarked front rooms being noisy from road traffic. Room average, but no drawers to put anything in - just one hanging built-it wardrobe. Could only just open the door to get into the room as the bed was a bit big for the room. The bathroom, however, was very large - bit of a waste of space really. Only four channels on the TV - couldn't even get freeview!! Having said that had a good nights sleep, no noise from the back could be heard. Staff very good and friendly. Would recommend for a one or two night stay but any longer I would need a few more 'home comforts' and certainly some drawers to put clothes in, or be prepared to live out of your suitcase.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the back if you would like some peace and quiet away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Smart and Simple the night before, and the night of our wedding at High Rocks.
Could not fault the service and the help that the staff, Lucinda in particular, afforded us. The hotel has recently opened a restaurant and they were unbelievably attentive, even arranging a set menu for our party of around 25 to ensure that they didn't run out of anything.
The room I stayed in the night before was huuuuuge, the room on the wedding night was fantastic, the bathroom was stunning.
The hotel IS undergoing some renovation at the moment however none of the work affected us or our stay, and they are definitely working toward making the hotel even more fantastic than it already is.
Parking outside is a bit of a pain but there is ample parking across the road - 3 or 4 minutes away and lovely Tunbridge Wells and the Pantiles are walking distance.

The Smart and Simple does exactly what it says on the tin. It's not a five-star or is it pretending to be. It is, however, a really really good 3-star with outstanding service.

Room Tip: Ask for room 22!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareandAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here recently in what has the potential to be a great room, however, the 'Smart' was let down by having a delightful view across a turreted round roof which was littered with disguarded cigarette ends!

The room was at the front of the hotel but I experienced none of the traffic noise others mention.

Parking is terrible, though more the fault of town planners, not the hotel!

Alright for an overnight stay and the staff were all (almost) friendly.

If I needed to stay in this area again, I think I would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent the night here before an interview and had a lovely, large room. The room was really clean and tidy, and had everything I could have needed to prepare including a desk, iron and board and hairdryer. The room had lots of mirrors which was really helpful, a lovely bed and a really powerful shower! Plus free wifi was very appreciated. My only comments would be it would be nice to have more plug sockets near mirrors for drying hair. It is strange not to have tea and coffee in the room but I ordered some tea in the morning which was delivered and perfect - just a shame you have to pay extra for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenLovesBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed one night and were pleasantly surprised. Did not expect a 3 star to be quite so good. I would probably rate this hotel as Good, rather than very good.
We had Room 2, which is on the ground floor, overlooking the street. However, with the secondary double glazing we were not troubled by noise from the traffic. A previous review mentions the 1 hour parking restriction outside the hotel, which is quite true. However, across the road you can park for 2 hours. We moved our car at 5pm and were able to park until 10am the following morning. As previously mentioned the staff are excellent, the outside seating area with waterfall, in the rear garden is lovely. We didn't eat here because we had previously arranged to meet family elsewhere, but the price of the food is very reasonable. Breakfast was good so assume main meals are equally as good. 3 negatives!! 1) There was nowhere in the shower room to put toiletries 2) The door to the shower room is plain and patterned glass, not much privacy 3) The curtains have not been hung properly. The tapes have not been pulled to create pleated effect. The result is that the curtains have fallen off the hooks in several places leaving them hanging in loops from the rail. Great shame because the material is very good quality. We booked through Laterooms at £70, without breakfast.
If we go back to Tunbridge Wells we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

A very frank and down to earth review ---- Hotel was easy to find - parking is not good though - hotel has just 2 allocated parking spaces immediately at the front - otherwise is permit holders only or 1 hour window and traffic wardens are "hot" Hotel was OK - could do with a makeover - a little grubby in our room (36) needs a new carpet and freshen up - although towels were fresh and bedding was fine. Shower pressure was good although water could have been hotter but just right temperature for my children. Staff were really friendly and helpful, breakfast was good although not included in the price quoted. Little suprised at the cost of room per night and overall bill HOWEVER room service is no extra charge and we had a very tasty dinner bought to our room after a very long day which was really good value

Room Tip: Quite happy with Room 36 (top floor facing High Rocks) although could do with a lick of paint to fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GT1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.3 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart and Simple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart and Simple Hotel

Property: Smart and Simple Hotel
Address: 54-57 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smart and Simple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart and Simple Hotel, 39 refurbished bedrooms located in the heart of town. Other facilities include, bar, meeting rooms, secret garden and free wireless through-out. The hotel and rooms are exactly as you would imagine from the name smart and simple. All have flat screen televisions, en-suite facilities, complimentary hospitality basket, direct dial telephones. Some of our rooms over look the secret gardens and some overlook the Tunbridge Wells common. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Smart and Simple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smart And Simple
Smart And Simple Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing