We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smart and Simple Hotel
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked direct ( with excellent room rate) quite late on as we were meeting 4 other couples and all had booked here. Was apprehensive due to reviews and star rating but our expectations were surpassed. I asked for a quiet room and had good sized room ( 32) overlooking back garden. Hotel had large party and was busy but I slept really well.Quiet, clean room with comfortable bed. Need to heat bathroom before shower. No kettle in room but complimentary bottled water. Continental breakfast was perfectly fine. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Ten minute or so walk to town. Parking was ok after 6.

Room Tip: 32 was good- by lift but no noise. Toilet/shower was down some stairs so a little more privacy that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPFCeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night. We booked the hotel as a deal through Groupon so got champagne and chocolates in our room.

The hotel is what it says in that it is simple. The room was basic. It was at the front of the hotel so quite noisy especially in the morning. Our radiator made a tapping noise which was also annoying whilst trying to sleep. The bathroom was small but clean.

We had a continental breakfast which was good with a lot of choice. Staff were polite and helpful and the bar and dining room were clean and modern looking.

The location of the hotel was great for town although I am not sure I would want to stay here longer than one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juju79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I booked this for our anniversary, it was clean and the room and bathroom was spacious, however they need to look at redoing this as about 3 lights didn't work and it could do with a lick on paint. However it was nice and for the price can't complain. Continental breakfast was nice, I though £7 for cooked breakfast was a bit steep so we didn't have it but it did look nice. Parking is quite hard so you maybe looking for a while. Would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neetsnewts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

On first impressions this hotel looked pretty decent. The concept seemed a good one but with a higher price than i would have expected for a simple hotel. Many will associate simple with budget. They would be wrong to do so here.

The building itself is a nice old English red brick terrace and you can park outside if you are lucky. Otherwise parking is a bit of nightmare. I was on the train so i was OK! The hotel is an easy 10 minutes form the station and town centre.

On arrival the reception staff were friendly if a little reserved. You could tell the hotel had had refit fairly recently but on looking further you could see it wasn't quite there. Whilst it looked good perhaps more everyday prices had been pad for furniture rather than finest prices. The public areas away form the dining room and reception looked a little scuffed and well lived in.

Once i found the room, which seemed to be an off shoot of the fire escape, it was large, light and comfortable. There was a large wardrobe for storage. The bedding was clean and fresh, as were the towels. I slept well for the duration of my stay.

On looking closer at the room i noticed there were a few stains on the carpets and some dark stains on the walls that i assume to be damp. These can be seen in the attached pictures. The room did have a peculiar smell but this went after the room had been aerated for a while. There was TV n the wall but no tea or coffee making facilities, I did not that the hotel would provide Tea on demand via room service.

The bathroom also had a funny smell and a moldy blind. It felt very damp. That may have been because the shower had no door or curtain and the water just seemed to seep out into the bathroom despite my best efforts with every towel and mat to hand At least the steps down from the room prevent a total flood. The water took an age to heat up and didn't seem to rise to a very high temperature. The shower wasn't at all powerful and seemed fiendishly difficult to operate.

There is no cooked breakfast option at this hotel, which is a shame. They do offer a continental breakfast and the self service range is wide. However i do like a good cooked hotel breakfast so this was a let down. I decided to eat out while staying so cant comment on the evening meals. The bar closed at 11 pm prompt.

The garden is really nice, almost alpine in style with water running through it. It is terraced with a good selection of thought out plants and is really fantastic, as it is very quiet and would be a nice place to relax. It is really the best feature of the hotel and should be more widely used.

Frustratingly this hotel just wasn't quite there. If you were paying less you could overlook some of the issues or with a little more attention to detail and this could be a really good boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a modest hotel conveniently situated for the shopping areas of the town. The first thing to note is that all the staff we had contact with were excellent. Our room was of good size with a bathroom. It was simply decorated but the bathroom was fine with a bath and separate shower. The linen, towels etc were all clean and well laundered. The only criticism I would have was that our room had no double glazing and was noisy. For fairness I should say that the original room we were given was double glazed but we switched as it only had a shower and we wanted a bath. The hotel could do with new carpets but at £65 per night, we thought it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert_hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a night recently. The communal areas seem to be very nicely done up - clean, fresh and inviting. However I was a little disappointed by the room. The minute you have got out of the lift the corridors don't look well maintained. The room itself was ok, just a little shabby. Unfortunately the bathroom also smelt a little less than fresh, even though there was no visible dirt. However for the price it was perfectly ok for what I needed

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun_addicts_anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during a short visit to the Royal town. The hotel is very reasonably priced and my expectations were blown away by the experience.

The rooms are a good size (we had room 2) and have recently been refurbished. Breakfast, at GBP 6.50 is excellent and we had no complaints. In fact, we moved to another hotel which was three times the price for a wedding party and wished we had stayed here for the remaineder of our stay!

I really must mention the staff. They go above and beyond what I had expected. I had asked directions to a nearby restaurant and the young lady gave me some excellent guidance. On returning from my room to leave, she stopped me to provide a printout from Google maps. Just exceptional. We have a couple more similar experiences, the staff are a credit to the hotel.

Downsides? Well, there are only 3 car parking spaces, but you can park opposite the hotel for free. Perhaps the rooms could do with a full size mirror and some extra pillows but this is really only a couple of small suggestions.

Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Room 2 was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
2.5 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
946 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Hotel
Russell Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart and Simple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart and Simple Hotel

Address: 54-57 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $66 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smart and Simple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart and Simple Hotel, 39 refurbished bedrooms located in the heart of town. Other facilities include, bar, meeting rooms, secret garden and free wireless through-out. The hotel and rooms are exactly as you would imagine from the name smart and simple. All have flat screen televisions, en-suite facilities, complimentary hospitality basket, direct dial telephones. Some of our rooms over look the secret gardens and some overlook the Tunbridge Wells common. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Smart and Simple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smart And Simple
Smart And Simple Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing