We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treat”
Review of Salomons Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salomons Estate
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Salomons is tucked away so that you feel you are in the countryside. There is ample parking (free). The rooms are tastefully fitted out and have a simple but luxurious feel about them. The food is very good although it can be a surprise to have to walk down hill to the other building to the restaurant. This said, it helps keep the room quiet and reception sorted iout a lift in a golf cart for me (you only have to ask). The grounds are lovely, the tiny museum is interesting, the bar is good and the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel58Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 274 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nice surprise staying here. Main and and gardens are superb. The room was very clean and obviously recently decorated. The breakfast was great with superb views over the gardens. Glad I had time to go round the museum and read the fascinating history of the place.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

set in beautiful grounds and amazing main building.. ive been here so many times for several events.Weddings, evening entertainment, dance classes, afternoon Tea and cheeky hotel stays ;p My favorite of all was the comedy nights though and I really hope they do that again!!
The food here is great too.. try the scampi I couldn't believe how nice it was, HUGE SURPRISE..

Room Tip: closer to the main building the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We were overjoyed at your brilliant feedback, and loved hearing that you've had many enjoyable times here at Salomons Estate and we hope you continue to have many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I visited here for lunch with friends and had the shallot and goats cheese tatin from the new Bistro menu which we'd seen advertised. We sat outside on the terrace in the sun and I have to say, the views are breathtaking and the grounds are absolutely stunning. The food was delicious and the staff were friendly. I'd love to come back to explore other items on the menu and have a look around the museum.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyM8L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review! We love hearing feedback, whether it's positive or negative, as it allows us to constantly improve. We take a great deal of care over and around our estate grounds and ensure that everything is maintained and kept at the highest of standards, so our customers can enjoy them all year round. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal within our Bistro, and we look forward to you returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were two spanish couples and we looking for any place to sleep. Luckily we found this hotel and this surprised us very much. When we have some days off, we will repeat.
Amazing place. Very quiet and clean.
Ideally to spend two or three days and enjoy of its facilities.
All the staff were very kind.
Gaby, her receptionist, was very helpful and nice.
100% recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review! All compliments are very highly appreciated, as we always look to improve in all aspects if possible. We are glad you had a great time visiting us here at Salomons Estate, and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Hotel main building is really in keeping with the feel of an old house, but unfortunately the sleeping dorms are not. The rooms were recently decorated and were spacious and clean.
We really enjoyed afternoon drinks on the terrace with the lovely view of the lake - prices reasonable and the best chips I have eaten in years (seriously)
Breakfast was very good - self service and plentiful.
The staff were very friendly and happy to help.
We paid £90 for a double room with breakfast which we felt was OK but a little pricey considering the disappointment of the out of character buildings containing the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms were hot with no air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHarvey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We take great pride in maintaining Salomons Estate house and grounds. All compliments are very highly appreciated, as we always look to improve in all aspects if possible. We are glad you had a great time visiting us here at Salomons Estate and that you enjoyed our chips! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed at Salomons for one night recently as we were going to a party in the main house and really pleased we did. It has a great rural location and even though from the outside the room blocks look awful and completley out of charaxcter with the rest of the house on the inside they have been refurbished to a good standard (even though the bed was exceedingly hard).
The staff were very friendly and attentive and the breakfast was fantastic. The grounds are very well maintained and it was very relaxing to wonder round in the morning after a heavy party the night before which was also very well done.
Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Salomons Estateand would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your review. We strive to ensure all of our customers have an enjoyable time whilst visiting us. We also try to maintain our estate grounds and ensure they are kept to the best of our ability so that our guests can enjoy them all year round. The guest accommodation bedrooms are temporary and although fully refurbished within the last 6 months, they will in due course, be replaced with a view to enhancing the estate as a whole. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Salomons Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
712 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
203 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
231 reviews
1.7 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salomons Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salomons Estate

Address: David Salomons Estate Broomhill Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 0TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $104 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salomons Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salomons Estate is a stunning Victorian mansion combining elegance and history. The house is set in 36 acres of picturesque gardens, woodlands and lakes nestled in the heart of the Garden of England. A mix of king-size, doubles, twins and singles bedrooms are available in 47 well-appointed bedrooms situated in two purpose-built accommodation buildings a short walk from the mansion house. Each room has en-suite shower facilities with shower and complimentary toiletries. There is a TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. A Continental breakfast is served each morning in the mansion house. The Estate offers a spectacular venue for your wedding, your next conference or a great day out with facilities to suit your every need from sumptuous dining and exciting nights out to fascinating historical setting and luxurious overnight stays. This venue offers a picturesque and tranquil environment whilst only being a short distance from both Tunbridge Wells and Tonbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Salomons Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salomons Estate Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing