We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Perfect"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salomons Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salomons Estate
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Perfect"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed for our anniversary night last week.The Hotel General Manager must be proud of his staff.She is exceptional.High praise to the receptionist Gabbie who checked us in with a personnel touch.Excellent room, everything worked perfectly.The little souvenir bag gift were another nice surprise well received. Of course the location could not be bettered 15' from Tunbridge Wells train Station.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    70
    46
    32
    16
See reviews for
41
84
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night at Salomons near Tunbridge Wells as a short break, last night. We booked based on the decent reviews (I'm still slightly confused about those....), the very attractive buildings and beautiful grounds. The cost for the room and continental breakfast was £90.

On arrival we found our way, through very nicely landscaped grounds, to the reception where it took several minutes of banter between staff before anyone actually came to help us. When checked in the receptionist asked

"Are you aware of where our accommodation blocks are"

This raised some concerns which were confirmed when he showed me a map of the site and pointed to some out buildings. Not wanting to pre-judge or be negative I took the keys and drove around the site until we reached what most honestly is described as a series of 1970s University Halls of Residence. The grounds had been recently landscaped (no plants or shrubs yet, fair enough but somewhat at odds with the website images of rolling, manicured gardens and country estate) and the buildings were out if sync with the attractive, historic main house.

Having let ourselves in the impression was improved a little as the renovation has clearly been recent. The common parts clean, if cheaply decorated. Our room was immaculate, but tiny and single glazed. The bed comfortable and bathroom clean but very basic. We felt that this was a long way from what the website and photos promised and went to speak to the reception who told us (twice during our stay) that we weren't the first to mention the mismatch, to express disappointment and to raise issues. Apparently, this has been passed on to the managers but no changes get made to the site or description.

Breakfast was sparse, but reasonable, the suggestion that we pay a further £15 for cooked breakfast was out of the question once we saw the dishes sitting, congealing at the side of the room. For the price, you expect a bit better.

The staff were polite, but seemingly powerless and clearly embarrassed. If I'd paid £50-60 for a business stop over I'd feel it was fair, £90 sold as a romantic getaway is far from realistic. We so wanted to love this place and were happy to find it but unfortunately can't recommend very highly after feeling quite mislead and left with a sense of frustration at how much better it could have been. It's worth mentioning that there are NO rooms in the main house - all our in the blocks. Look at the site, is that clear to you?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such comprehensive feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had expected but will use all of your comments to ensure that we improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Great value, fantastic setting in countryside, room well appointed if a little hot. Short walk from accommodation buildings to restaurant. Food very good if a little limited in terms of choice.
Reception very helpful. Would certainly use again for business and pleasure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DaveyGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments to improve for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here this weekend ( 22-02-14). Twin room through Booking.com

Requested ice bucket and 2 glasses at reception and they were actually brought to our room before we had made it there ourselves!
However they seemed to have booked us a double. They soon found us a twin room and it wasn't any hassle and apologised.
10 minutes later they sent up a plate of fresh fruit as a "sorry" It was delicious!

We stayed in the "Canterbury" block ( I call it block as it looks like an old council flats from the outside)
I started to have a few concerns, however once we entered the "block" it was clear everything was to a very high standard, lovely fresh plush grey carpeting throughout.
Room it's self was a little small, very very clean and again finished to a very high standard!

Beds and linen are superb! & very confortable!

It's about 10 minutes out of town (which meant it was very quite) we had taxi's to and from town (£10 into Tunbridge £15 to get back - this was a 3am though!)

Can't comment on breakfast as we didn't make it!

Over all I would highly recommend and hope to stay again!

P.S Thanks to the lovely Spanish lady who helped us with the replacement room & the fruit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taggy220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to sort out your rooms so quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back and maybe you can enjoy breakfast next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have been to Salomons 3 times, twice for work Christmas meals and once for the valentines meal. Every time I have been the food and service has been excellent. The receptionists are always more then helpful. We stayed last night as part of the valentines package, £155 per couple for a 5 course meal and B&B, it's an absolute bargain. The food was amazing, wine is very reasonably priced and the rooms exceeded my expectations (the website photos don't do them justice). My only criticism is that for both the meal and breakfast nothing was sign posted, when couples turned up for the meal it took awhile for the maître d' to notice them, some people just wandered around until someone helped them, it was also near on impossible to get his attention when we wanted to get the bill for our wine, it took a good 30 minutes to get his attention (not that we were in a rush). It was the same at breakfast, when we arrived there was maybe 3 tables full, so not busy, no one greeted us, there was no signs to tell you were to get your breakfast or if it was served to you, when we finally found the food, half way through our fry ups we were asked if we wanted tea or coffee, so it was a bit late. Having said that I would stay again, if the valentines deal next year looks as good we would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We have passed all of your comments regarding the speed of service to our food and beverage team. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had valentines meal the meal was superb and service impeccable, could not fault the evening at all. Atmosphere was lovely and the staff were very attentive. Accommodation blocks are modern and have been refurbished and are immaculate . will be going back again .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deand1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I attended a wedding here in November and have to say this venue is beautiful. The grounds are vast like the previous review says; definitely feels as though you are in the countryside. Rooms are great value, I stayed 2 nights - in a twin room and the other in a single room. Each room was clean, tidy and well decorated.

My only gripe would be that in both rooms that I stayed there were dead bugs in the wall lights and bathroom. Perhaps Housekeeping overlooked this when cleaning the room?

Other than that I can't fault Salomons. The service was fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have passed your comments on to our housekeeping team and all of these issues have been resolved. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salomons Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salomons Estate

Property: Salomons Estate
Address: David Salomons Estate Broomhill Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 0TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salomons Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salomons Estate is a stunning Victorian mansion combining elegance and history. The house is set in 36 acres of picturesque gardens, woodlands and lakes nestled in the heart of the Garden of England. A mix of king-size, doubles, twins and singles bedrooms are available in 47 well-appointed bedrooms situated in two purpose-built accommodation buildings a short walk from the mansion house. Each room has en-suite shower facilities with shower and complimentary toiletries. There is a TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. A Continental breakfast is served each morning in the mansion house. The Estate offers a spectacular venue for your wedding, your next conference or a great day out with facilities to suit your every need from sumptuous dining and exciting nights out to fascinating historical setting and luxurious overnight stays. This venue offers a picturesque and tranquil environment whilst only being a short distance from both Tunbridge Wells and Tonbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Salomons Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salomons Estate Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing