We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I agree with a previous review-pub with rooms!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tunbridge Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I agree with a previous review-pub with rooms!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We staid here as part of a wedding party,where rooms had been reserved by the bride and groom, as this is where the wedding party was going to end up. The rooms were boiling hot with no facility to open the windows more than 3 inches, the shower head was touching my head ( and I'm only 5ft 8) god knows how it worked if you are tall, talk about head height, and the residents breakfast was pitiful. All for the sum of £120 per night, oh and no tea or coffers making facilities in the room. No royal would wish to stay here, even the queen must like a cup of tea in the morning!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yumtum1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    74
    49
    15
    19
See reviews for
48
108
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose the TW hotel for our wedding reception for the location, room, cost and choice of food options available, which far exceeded many other venues in and around Tunbridge Wells. We used one of the private rooms above the main restaurant which was a lovely setting overlooking the pantiles. All our 50 or so guests had 3 courses which all had good praise. A special thank you to assistant manager Simon who coordinated the whole event, he was fantastic and nothing was too much for him in helping us organising the reception and on the day. The owner worked in the kitchen and we have to say the food and service was flawless. Thank you to all the team in making our day special on that snowy day in march. We have eaten there since many times and the food and service have always been excellent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank southerner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have eaten at the Brasserie Des Sources twice and have thoroughly enjoyed the food.

I have not stayed in the hotel, but the manager showed me around the rooms and there were beautiful. I was very impressed.

The hotel is perfectly situated. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice clean rooms..... But lots of stairs not suitable for elderly or disabled. No fire information. Terrible service at breakfast waited 30 mins for drinks, excuse was everyone came to breakfast at the same time! Had no water in the morning at all. The phone in room didn't work. No proper reception which made it hard to resolve issues with anyone. The location is nice but car park a good walk. Very disappointing would expect far more for the price. Had much better stays in budget chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scatj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Tunbridge Wells Hotel and rally enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean, comfortable, especially the pillows, with a nice bathroom. The staff where great, really welcoming. Our meals where good, we had lunch and breakfast, the quality of the ingredient's was very good and all presented really well. The location is great, nestling within the Pantiles area of town it's great for exploring or sitting outside and people watching.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Lovely hotel, in a very central location - right in the heart of the Pantiles. Room was a small double - very clean and well decorated - great shower - but woke at 1.30am very very hot!!! Went to open the window and it wouldn't open!!!! Couldn't sleep for the rest of the night -had to get up at 5am, as had to do a breakfast presentation at the Hotel du Vin - can't tell you how rough I felt. Didn't have time for breakfast but was made a strong coffee by the very nice man on reception who told me that room 17 and 12 were the worst rooms to stay in as neither have windows that open!!! He said he'd talk to the Manager about putting fans in them!!! Suggest you only stay in these rooms in Winter as my room (room 17) had a very thick duvet! Shame about the room as its a lovely hotel

Room Tip: See review - avoid 12 and 17 unless you like a very hot room with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsrnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night whilst attending a wedding in Tunbridge Wells.
The hotel is really nice, its an old building that has been refurbished and finished to a high standard, The feel is very French and is very sweet and appealing. Staff are excellent, lots of youngsters who are polite and friendly - Whoever employs these younger people deserves a pat on the back. Food was very good and reasonable, Wine list is EXCELLENT with lots of French wines to choose from.
Not the cheapest place to stay but certainly the best in the area.
TIP......Some staircases are narrow and high so watch this if you have trouble with stairs.
Overall i would recommend this hotel very highly and would definitely return.
Well done the hotel team and thank you for a nice if too short stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mta1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
3.0 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tunbridge Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tunbridge Wells Hotel

Property: The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
Address: 58 The Pantiles, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 5TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tunbridge Wells Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in the historic heart of Tunbridge Wells ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Tunbridge Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing