We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great studio room for self catering”

Review of Ford Cottage

Outside Ford Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Ford Cottage
Breakfast Area - Hayloft Hayloft - kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Outside Ford Cottage
Breakfast Area - Hayloft
Hayloft - kitchen area
Hayloft - Studio Flat
Outside Ford Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
WGWNN
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great studio room for self catering”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Ford Cottage was very close to the 'Pantiles' the best attraction in Tunbridge Wells where several restaurants and coffee places are to be found. The owner, Roger, made us very welcome and meticulously showed how every thing worked. Room was quiet and very comfortable. Would stay there again for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: More space than a hotel room and convenient location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia H
1 review
“Good location and atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Great place to visit gardens in Kent&surroundings. We (2 adults and 2-year old child) stayed at Hayloft 3nights and enjoyed of the peaceful atmosphere. Nice to cook, grocery-shop very near etc. Wendy and Roger are very friendly. We/I will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnolan
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“In the Hayloft in the Garden of England”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I spent five happy days (and nights) in the Hayloft apartment at Ford Cottage. Everything was excellent. Wendy and Roger are most gracious hosts, very helpful but not at all intrusive. The apartment was quite comfortable. It is up one flight of carpeted stairs with the bathroom below. I would offer one tip to my fellow travelers. Ford Cottage is in a superb location in Royal Tunbridge Wells, but it can be difficult to find. We were not equipped with GPS. If you go there, and really you should, and are similarly unequipped, be sure to ask Wendy or Roger for specific directions. Royal Tunbridge Wells is a larger city than you may presume. That said, Ford Cottage is in an ideal spot - an easy short walk to the Pantiles and onto the High Street. There are plenty of restaurants, shops, and even a supermarket, in very close proximity.

If you'd like to put some grace into your holiday in southeastern England, you can't do better than staying at this gracious place.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything except finding the place
Liked least: Finding the place
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline9...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well presented, comfortable apartment that's very close to town centre & supermarket”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My Mum and I stayed in The Stables for 6 nights in June. Ford Cottage makes a very good first impression as you arrive: pretty well kept house and flower beds with 2 places to park guest cars (off the road). The owners showed us around the ground floor apartment and were very imformative and helpful. The apartment is also well presented, it is obvious some careful thought has gone into decoration and furnishings, which made us feel at home, as did the owners who got the balance of being friendly/helpful whilst not being intrusive just right. Bathroom, kitchen and linen/towels were all clean and tidy.
We did not do much cooking, as the Pantiles are just 5-10 minute walk away and have nice restaurants. For the few simple meals we did cook, we found all the required equipment. There is also an ironing board/iron too which was handy for linen trousers!
A supermarket is only 10 minute walk away which is very handy.
I would happily recommend Ford Cottage to my friends and family! Something to consider, if you had more than one child it might be a bit too cosy (there is a sofa bed in the sitting room, which increases bed capacity, but does make the sitting room a bit cramped for space). However for two people there is more than enough room.
We really enjoyed our stay - Sissinghurst, Clayton House, Knole are all only approx 30 minutes away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds & lounge chairs & that everything was spotlessly clean
Liked least: Sitting room was a bit cramped for space due to sofa-bed, that was located behind chairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnie Y
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed for nearly a week and enjoyed it like a home away from home. The location was perfect so we could drive our toddler to visit my husband's divorced parents who live one hour north & south from the cottage.

The cozy converted barn/garage has a kitchen & eating area, comfy beds, & privacy. It was within walking distance to the grocery store. Most of all, the place is a quintessentially English domesticity that it beats staying at boring hotels (or my in-law's).

The landlord was a very nice & helpful gentleman. We arrived late & very lost & he was very patience in directing me over numerous calls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loaction.
Liked least: None.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliz D
Tunbridge Wells
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A cosy home away from home......”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Ford Cottage is a cosy home away from home.

The owners have thought about everything to make your stay there with them pleasant and comfortable. Small things mean the most and in this case the efforts made to ensure our stay was enjoyable was very much appreciated by all of us. We are a family of four and stayed in "The Stables" for two weeks. It was clean and well presented. Bedding changed and a cleaner visited once a week. They have provided all the tourist information required for Tunbridge Wells and surrounding villages. There is a wide variety of reading material and videos for all ages. It is a quiet away location from the buzz of the main town yet conveniently located close to the Superstore Sainburys so handy for picking up essentials. It is five minutes walk from the Pantiles and not far from the train station.Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate provided. The kitchen is well stocked with pots crockery etc. There is ample parking and it is welcomed as parking in Tunbridge Wells is expensive.

We enjoyed our stay at Ford Cottage, however they could further enhance their guests stay with a few alterations. The TV was quite small and perhaps a larger screen would make better communal vewing. The wireless internet access was on occassion very weak and a stronger router would be much better.

One thing worth noting for others is that Ford cottage is small and there is no back garden access so for a family of 4 when entertaining visitors, it felt slightly restricted however it didn't take away from the full experience and we would stay again. We were visiting family and friends in the area and so had people round a few nights, this many not apply to most people.

Ford cottage met our expectations and we would happilly stay again if we holiday in Tunbridge Wells. The Owners are very helpful and happy to give useful local advice. They very kindly lent us scales to weigh our luggage on departure and accommodated our visitors cars. They offered to store our luggage before check in as we arrived early.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The presentation and layout of the cottage. The bedding provided was very nice and the overall thoughtfullness of the owners.
Liked least: Intermittent wi-fi and smallish size of the cottage
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGSHD
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$91
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing