We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Do They Do It?”

Giggling Squid Tunbridge Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“How Do They Do It?”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have eaten at the Giggling Squid too many times to count and every single meal has been delicious. We have sampled quite a few dishes from their menu which is not too large, and all the sea bass dishes in the fish section are beautiful. My husband nearly always has the salt and pepper squid starter which is perfect! The ambiance of the restaurant is typically noisy, the tables against the wall are preferable. One of the few places where you can eat starter, main and usually dessert and all courses live up to your expectation. Thai people put us to shame - they are always so warm, friendly and welcoming and this restaurant is no exception! If you're in a hurry, you can dine here without worrying that you're going to be late. I don't know how they manage to take your order and deliver such a fantastic plate of food in such a short space of time. In fact that would be my only criticism. Sometimes.... a little too fast. If you're out for a meal for the evening you can be in and out too quickly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaRoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    141
    40
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just love this place. The staff are wonderful, its very nicely fitted out and the food........ Well in my opinion it is unbeatable. Only problem is choosing what to eat as everything I have tried has been gorgeous. The salt and pepper squid is my favourite and a must on every visit. The Brighton place is good but the TW Giggling Squid is much much better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A friendly, buzzing restaurant”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A lovely restaurant with really super food. It was very busy and we were glad we booked -although they said they only do 6.30pm or 8.30pm sittings on Fridays and Saturdays, they did let us book at 8pm. The food was delicious and reasonably priced and we will definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A pleasant change”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

On a damp Saturday morning, when other eateries were full and noisy, this little restaurant slightly off the centre of the town was perfect for a light lunch. The 'taster tapas sets' cost around £10 for a selection of 4 small dishes. Each set is themed with a delicious squid and fish one, crispy duck with chicken curry &c. Savoury rice makes up one of the 4 choices in most cases so there is plenty to eat. Accompanied by a cold Thai beer all tasted fresh and flavourful. The restaurant was nearly full but tables sufficiently far apart not to feel too crowded. The oriental staff were charming and efficient and the food came quickly. I have given this place 4 stars although we would probably always make the same choices, so a visit once every 6 months would be right for us. (All the 'tapas' choices are available as main dishes for a full meal.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r0sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Busy, pricey but worth it.”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

ok..... we went here last night it was absolutely packed thank god we had a reservation but it was a tiny little table right next to the door. Service was good they were very friendly and jokey but never came to check if everything was ok or if we wanted anything else. the only time they came back was to drop food off or collect empty plates.. we did sit with empty glasses for a good while and it was hard to get anyone's attention being behind the door... BUT the food was good. the menu was funny and a good talking point with all of the little stories instead of telling you what your ordering. My other half is vegetarian and there is plenty of very very tasty options and she recommends the cashew stir fry and the tofu pad Thai.. the mixed seafood sizzle on the griddle was brilliant and not overcooked like a lot of other places.

definitely NOT the cheapest place locally for good Thai as their main competition is only around the corner and i prefer the atmosphere and service at the other place that i shall not mention (but it has a little tuck tuck outside) BUT i will definitely be returning to the giggling squid. i know its a chain but its actually a good chain...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mr69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giggling Squid Tunbridge Wells also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Giggling Squid Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing