We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, excellent service, adaptable dishes, reasonable wine costs”
Review of The Spice

The Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money, excellent service, adaptable dishes, reasonable wine costs”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

When visiting Tunbridge Wells from London where I live, the choice of venue to eat is usually The Spice when meeting with friends.
The food quality is good and if you are ever dissatisfied then there will be no fuss about changing something for you. If you want to vary a dish slightly then the management will give recommendations and suit a plate to your requirements. The menu is varied and the chef produces some excellent Bangladeshi based cuisine.
The ambience and decorations is smart and clean.
A thoroughly good experience always.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    34
    13
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant helpful friendly staff”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We visit this restaurant regularly although we are from Brighton . The food is always top class and staff very friendly

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I visited The Spice at 161 Camden Road last evening”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I visited The Spice at 161 Camden Road last evening and found the staff were plentiful and helpful. Unfortunately their food did not agree with me and I have since been passing liquid through an orifice not designed for that sort of thing. Although not medically qualified I believe the fluid so violently expelled has a high acidic content as chemical burns are making the continued use of bathroom tissue an unpleasant experience. However, the two course meal including including alcohol cost less than £20 a head which would be very reasonable had the contents of the meal lasted within me more than a couple of hours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Eugene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abiduz z, Owner at The Spice, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Sir Or Madam

Thank You for your review, first of all i would like to say you must have tried something hot instead of something mild therefore you had that reaction. In unseal circumstances like this you should get in touch with the management i have provided with my personal mobile number which is 07581249540 please get in touch with me as soon as possible.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“We love the spice!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We are regulars at the spice both for takeaways and eating in
It's a great local curry house with friendly and welcoming staff
Our kids love it too and a fuss is always made of them with a little non-alcoholic drink at the end of the meal so they don't feel left out when we have ours!
Highly recommended and I would ignore the negative comments and try it out....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentMum012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We ordered a Friday night take away for our family of 2 adults, 3 teenagers and 4 adults..£45 all in and absolutely delicious, not a thing left ! All five curries were spectacular. Great service, great value, will definitely be back for more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saab0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Southborough, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing